Author Topic: 3.7 BETA 4  (Read 2470 times)

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5928
    • View Profile
3.7 BETA 4
« on: December 28, 2019, 07:12:45 PM »
Version 3.7 BETA 4 is ready.  This version has fixes for all issues that were found in the third beta.

- Evaluation mode now works.  So if you don't yet have a license and want to give it a go, please do.

- As before, installing this won't upgrade earlier versions (before 3.7) that you may have installed.  It WILL replace version 3.7 beta 1, beta 2, or beta 3, if you have that installed.


Link for download
Edit: Beta 5 is ready: https://www.thetournamentdirector.net/forums/index.php?topic=6022



Here's the list of fixes and changes:

- Evaluation period now works.
- Language installation now works.
- Added preference for color format (RGB/HEX/HSL) and added button on color inputs to change format.
- Updated font picker window to give information on font picker status and a button to open the Fonts folder.
- Updated color picker window to give information on color picker status, and a button to open the system color picker  (as in previous versions).  Only drawback is that it doesn't support alpha channel.
- Bug fixed: "Could not call remote function 'getPosition'. Check that the function signature is correct. Underlying  error: Object has been destroyed."
- Bug fixed: "Auto save" message isn't updated on language change.
- Bug fixed: "wipe" transitions don't work right for various screen sizes with layout scaling enabled.
- Bug fixed: Seating chart table images selection window doesn't size previews properly.
- Bug fixed: Some built-in layouts had incorrect settings.
- Bug fixed: "Stretch horizontally" isn't applied for the current screen when a layout is loaded.
- Bug fixed: Layout scaling is incorrect directly after loading a layout if current screen is a built-in screen.
- Bug fixed: "TypeError: Cannot read property 'equals' of undefined" on Preferences tab.
- Bug fixed: "TypeError: Cannot read property 'length' of undefined" when importing sounds.
- Bug fixed: Sales person selection window too small to show contents of sales person list.
- Bug fixed: Some color didn't convert consistently from HSL to RGB and back.
- Bug fixed: "SyntaxError: Unexpected end of input" when using some table blueprints.
- Bug fixed: HTML screens have scrollbars if an image is placed that is full screen size.
- Bug fixed: HTML screens have an 8 pixel margin.
- Bug fixed: Setting all chip values on Set Chip Counts window doesn't update chip count totals.
- Bug fixed: "ReferenceError: inFilename is not defined" when refreshing statistics.
- Bug fixed: "Name" column on Players tab and Game tab exports Nickname
- Bug fixed: Main font and highlight font on Seating Chart/List pages can get out of sync.
- Bug fixed: On Seating Chart page only background color of highlight font is used on highlighted players.
- Bug fixed: On Seating List page, only background and foreground colors of highlight font is used on highlighted  players.
- Bug fixed: "Error: Could not call remote function 'getContentSize'. Check that the function signature is correct.  Underlying error: Object has been destroyed."
- Bug fixed: "Error: Could not call remote function 'isMaximized'. Check that the function signature is correct.  Underlying error: Object has been destroyed."
- Bug fixed: Level duration format selection doesn't work on Blinds Schedule page.
- Bug fixed: When typing a font name, the preview doesn't change until some other input has been modified.
- Bug fixed: Name Format dialog doesn't display all formats if using alternate language and language keys for the name formats are not provided.
- Bug fixed: Improved highlighting of players on Seating List page.
- Bug fixed (3.4): Changing the language numerous times causes a memory leak.
- Bug fixed (3.4): "TypeError: Cannot read property 'Display' of undefined" when right-clicking on the Prizes tab.  There are similar errors on other pages.  Occurs when right-clicking on a deleting row while the row is fading away.
- Bug fixed: Clicking default player images on Display category of Preferences does nothing.
- Bug fixed (3.4): "Unseat player" in context menu when right-clicking unseated player on the Tables tab.
- Bug fixed: "TypeError: Cannot read property 'size' of undefined."
- Bug fixed: "In Use" status item in "Tables" section of Controls tab has no information.
- Bug fixed (3.1): When adding a Data Store, the prompt to initialize it references a checkbox used to overwrite files,  but the checkbox is missing (only shows on the initialize dialog).
- Bug fixed: Continuously esizing the Hendon Mob export window will eventually push the OK/Cancel buttons off the  bottom of the window.
- Bug fixed: "TypeError: Cannot read property 'fireEventByName' of undefined" when pressing "FireEvent" button in  a layout.
- Bug fixed: "ReferenceError: newDialog is not defined" when randomly seating player at specific table.
- Bug fixed (3.0): Memory leak when using <bountyChips> layout token.
- Bug fixed: In simple mode, buy-in players buys in players even if Cancel is pressed.

« Last Edit: January 29, 2020, 12:07:37 AM by Corey Cooper »

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5928
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2019, 07:52:48 PM »
Following up my own post, some of you might be asking "what's left?"  The answer is "not much!"

- A color picker.  This was a low priority for me, but now that everything else is done I can get started on it.

- A font picker.  Unfortunately I think this will not be part of the final version 3.7.  It's not part of Electron and my request has essentially been denied.  I'm honestly not sure where to go from here.  Locally installed fonts can still be used, but the TD application simply has no way currently to look those up and provide them as a selection to the user.  But the user can still use them by typing their name directly.  While it is not a solution, I've been considering installing a collection of free fonts from the web as a list of fonts for the user to select from.  There are a lot of great fonts available for free now.  This doesn't solve the problem but it might make it more bearable.

- Automatic updates.  I've not fully investigated this but there's no reason that I can think of not to enable this as a feature.  Much better than simply alerting the user that a new version is available.  I hope to get this enabled by the time 3.7 is out of beta.

- Code-signing certificate.  This will allow installation of the application without Windows complaining that the application is not "safe".  I actually finally got the certificate approved just yesterday, but it won't arrive for a few days and I didn't want to hold up this release.  So this one is basically "done".

That's it!  There are other things that need attention, but nothing to hold up the final of 3.7.  Once I finish the color picker, get the certificate and figure out how to get it into the build/install process, and determine how to proceed with automatic updates, version 3.7 is done.


Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5928
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2019, 07:55:15 PM »
And as a followup to my own followup, I want to say THANK YOU so much to everyone who has been using the beta versions.  It is so unbelievably helpful.  You all using the beta versions allows me to find and fix issues that never show up during my own testing.  I cannot thank you all enough!

lolo02100

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2019, 02:04:59 AM »
je te dit merci pour cette nouvelle version beta et tout ton travail et une bonne fin d'année 2019

Seitz333

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2020, 04:18:01 PM »
Thanks Corey! Just downloaded and will try it on tuesday when I have my first tourney of the year.
Chuck

casinodragon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2020, 12:15:59 PM »
I downloaded and use the Beta 4 now. one of the Problems I found out that my Standard Printer, a Printer inside our Network, I can chose this printer in the TD but he didn't print anything. I tried this at the Players tap to export Players by printing.
What about move Game Screen to extended Screen, only found move to Main Screen.
At a re-buy Tournament very player can take only one Re-buy. I set this at the Tournament settings. But TD still ask if the Player who took already one Re-buy want to take one more. In the old Version i only need to click no at the first time and TD didn't ask again.
But the rest of the new Version are very good. Fast, stable and easy to handle like the older Versions before Windows 10 ;-)
Thank you for your work.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2020, 01:01:55 PM by casinodragon »

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5928
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2020, 03:58:23 PM »
I downloaded and use the Beta 4 now. one of the Problems I found out that my Standard Printer, a Printer inside our Network, I can chose this printer in the TD but he didn't print anything. I tried this at the Players tap to export Players by printing.

I don't know if you noticed this in the "Printing Preferences" on the Preferences tab:

At this time printing only works when using the Default printer. To use a different printer you must change the Default printer in Windows. This will be fixed in a future version.

So while the TD can see your installed printers and you can select any of them, printing won't work unless the "Default" printer is selected.  This is unfortunately an Electron bug.  So I'm just waiting for those guys to fix it.  I think they will eventually fix it.

What about move Game Screen to extended Screen, only found move to Main Screen.

The functionality in the version 3.4.3 and earlier to move the Game Screen to your Extended Display, and similar features, were there for one simple reason: the TD had to be restarted to switch between window mode and full-screen mode.  In window mode, you can click the title bar of a window and drag it wherever you want.  But in full-screen mode, there's no title bar, so no way for you to move the window.  So I had to add the ability to move the window when in full-screen mode.

Now the application can switch between window mode and full-screen mode at any time.  With the Settings window closed, just press F11.  Or, right-click and select "Full screen".  To get out of full-screen mode, press F11.  Or right-click and select "Exit full screen".  Or move the mouse to the top of the screen and click the big X that appears.

To get the Game window to your extended display, just exit full screen mode, drag the window where you want it, and press F11 to go back to full screen mode.

At a re-buy Tournament very player can take only one Re-buy. I set this at the Tournament settings. But TD still ask if the Player who took already one Re-buy want to take one more. In the old Version i only need to click no at the first time and TD didn't ask again.

I did change this functionality.  A user got confused as to why that window (to rebuy a player who just busted out so they can retain their seat) didn't appear.  I thought it might be a bug, but it turns out this was correct because the user was no longer eligible to rebuy since they already rebought and the limit was set to 1 rebuy per player.  So everything was working.  But while I was testing, I understood the user's confusion.  The process did not feel consistent.  That the window would open sometimes and not other times felt odd.  I decided to change it so the window always opens and gives the user the option to rebuy (the player is still ineligible, and the rebuy window will show that).  You are the 2nd person to notice this change, so I'm not certain I made the right decision.  At this point I'm thinking I will change it back, and maybe add a preference so the user can decide how this works.

But the rest of the new Version are very good. Fast, stable and easy to handle like the older Versions before Windows 10 ;-)
Thank you for your work.

Thank you!

casinodragon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2020, 04:26:43 PM »
Hi Corey,
thank you for the quick answer. The prob with the printing i have are that TD see and use the default Windows printer, but didn't print . i thought maby its because its a printer inside a Network.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5928
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2020, 06:42:03 PM »
Hi Corey,
thank you for the quick answer. The prob with the printing i have are that TD see and use the default Windows printer, but didn't print . i thought maby its because its a printer inside a Network.

I see.  Hmm.  I honestly can't say.  There *are* a number of issues with printing, and the Electron team have been addressing them, but several are still open.  Whether the print is local or network shouldn't matter, of course, but it might.  For the curious, here's the main bug report I'm following: https://github.com/electron/electron/issues/17523.  As you can see there are perhaps 2 dozen issues with printing, some of which don't apply, and many of which have been addressed.  But several are still open.  We might just have to wait until they've been fixed and the TD has caught up.  The TD currently uses Electron 5.0.10.  The current release is 7.1.7.  The Electron team is moving very quickly!  I will be struggling to keep up.

videocontact

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2020, 01:40:41 PM »
Not Display management options?
How to have your control screen on your computer screen, and the Layout screen on a secondary screen?

casinodragon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #10 on: January 05, 2020, 02:30:35 PM »
When i go to the Seating Chart Screen to show the Tables there are always the "pause Clock" over some names. How can i off this. The older Versions had a blinking clock so u can see the names. And how i realise that the seating chart screen move again up and down?

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5928
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #11 on: January 05, 2020, 11:19:09 PM »
Not Display management options?
How to have your control screen on your computer screen, and the Layout screen on a secondary screen?

Close the Settings window.  Press F11 to exit full-screen mode.  The Game window will now have a title bar.  Drag the game window to the appropriate display.  Press F11 again to enter full-screen mode.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5928
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #12 on: January 05, 2020, 11:21:43 PM »
When i go to the Seating Chart Screen to show the Tables there are always the "pause Clock" over some names. How can i off this.

I think you are referring to the Status Messages.  Right-click on it and select "Disable Status Messages".  There is more control over them by pressing the "Status Messages" button on the Preferences tab.

The older Versions had a blinking clock so u can see the names. And how i realise that the seating chart screen move again up and down?

The Built-in screens (Player Rankings, Seating Chart, Blinds Schedule, Player Movement, and Seating List) will all automatically scroll if their contents are too tall to fit on the screen.  Right-click on the screen and select "Disable Auto-scroll" to turn it off.

NLAxeman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #13 on: January 06, 2020, 11:22:19 AM »
I don't know if it's come up before but I tried the new beta version and I get a program shut down due to the "ContinueWhereILeftOff" feature if the file it's searching for is not available. I had to create a file from an older version and load it in the new version in order to shut off that feature and try it.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5928
    • View Profile
Re: 3.7 BETA 4
« Reply #14 on: January 06, 2020, 10:03:55 PM »
I don't know if it's come up before but I tried the new beta version and I get a program shut down due to the "ContinueWhereILeftOff" feature if the file it's searching for is not available. I had to create a file from an older version and load it in the new version in order to shut off that feature and try it.

Hmm, I've not seen that.  I just tried it: loaded a tournament, made sure "Continue where I left off" preference was enabled, exited, deleted the tournament, and restarted the app.  Upon starting it I got a dialog saying "Unable to load tournament file: file not found" with the path to the now-deleted tournament.

Did you get an error message?