Author Topic: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.  (Read 3829 times)

JohnJ46

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« on: August 04, 2007, 06:01:15 AM »
Corey,
  First I want to say I like the program.

  I run my tournaments with several monitors and would like to be able to display the main tournament screen on one monitor and be able to open new windows and display either the seating chart or player ranking or whatever on a different monitor. Is there any option for this, or is this a possible upgrade that can be in our near future. Other than this concern I am happy with the program so far.

Thanks,

Phaze

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 346
    • View Profile
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2007, 07:17:36 AM »
This has been suggested before, but I don't remember the reason that it was hard to achieve this, but it is a great suggestion. In an amateur point of view, its not a big deal at all, but recently I played at a casino where they use TD (calgarycasino is the user name, maybe you seen his posts here in the forums). I noticed that they would make some changes while the display was on the big screen projector and it seemed to me to look highly unprofessional, while dozens of players could see the internal workings.


Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2007, 05:18:10 PM »
Been working on this for quite some time.  I've explained this a couple of times in various posts on here, but basically it comes down to the framework on which the TD is built.

What I would like to do is have the Tournament window open all the time.  The Settings could be a window that you open when necessary (possibly on a different monitor).  This is already achievable.  The problems begin when a "modal" dialog (that's a dialog that opens on top of a window, and you can't access the window that opened it until you close the dialog - like a "confirmation" (yes/no) dialog).  Basically, when you open the dialog everything goes haywire.  I've tried so many things to work around this but just haven't had any success.


Phaze

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 346
    • View Profile
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2007, 05:26:57 PM »
I know a few other programs that seem to do this function really good. They probably write programs out differently, but would it help to figure out how they did theirs... For example VideoLan VLC Media player. A separate window opens for the movie while controls stay in its own window. Even Windows Media player does that, maybe that is similar programing to IE... both probably use similar framework...

Either way, I hope you do figure out a solution to this, but in my opinion, the program ain't broke because we can't look through another window... thanks

JohnJ46

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2007, 05:48:18 PM »
Thanks Corey for the reply, I looked all over this forum and read all of the help files and didn't see this topic before, sorry for having you explain it again.

Just a note for Phaze, I never said the program was broken, it may not be a big deal for you but it is for me. I understand programming and understand that some things are hard to get done, I don't expect a program for $25 to be perfect, I just thought I would ask to see if it was already available and I just missed it or if it could be something to wish for in the future. I have a work around with the use of another program, but if it were possible to get it put into TD (without too much trouble) it would have been nice.

Thanks Again Corey!
« Last Edit: August 04, 2007, 05:50:26 PM by JohnJ46 »

Phaze

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 346
    • View Profile
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2007, 06:48:47 PM »
sorry you got the impression that I was laying blame... I was just throwing that in the air... I have my tv hooked to my computer and I would like it to be that way too, but just because it doesn't, I didn't want Corey to get the impression that I was downplaying his program... sorry you took it that way pal... All I meant was that the program does what need it to do very well, and what most of everything we would want very well, and for that we appreciate the program and we get more than we paid for out of it... But it would be all that much better when we can help corey with making the program picture perfect!!!  ;)  ;D

herb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2007, 10:32:46 AM »
Well - i don't really need this feature but i understand the "esthetic" problem. Maybe you could solve the problem by building a web-interface into TTD. - I've seen many programs that can be remote controlled via web-page, maybe that's the solution, run the program in the main window, and control it from the browser.
That way it would also be possible to control TTD with a smart phone or something, and the dealers could do the rebuys and add-ons without the help of the floorman.

Probably overkill, but hey...

EDIT: Another way would be to "export" the main-tournament page to a .html file, and have firefox display this page in full screen, but that would have to be some very dynamic html to be able to display changes immediately.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2007, 10:36:15 AM by herb »

IBuyCars

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2007, 06:01:11 AM »
Would it not be an easier option that the diolog boxes do not close when you press the ok button? that way you open for example the Rebuy player screen drag it to your second monitor, rebuy players during the tourament, pressing the ok button updates Tournament screen the rebuy box stays open for the next rebuy.

Just an idea

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2007, 11:21:26 AM »
The next [major] version should have the Tournament page open in a window, while the Settings page opens in a separate dialog.  I started work on this last week and have been pleased so far with the results.  Still some big IFs on whether or not this will work overall, but looks good so far.  There are a lot of things that have to be done and tested to make this work, so no idea yet when this will be available.  Just wanted to let you guys know.

Phaze

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 346
    • View Profile
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2007, 08:18:07 PM »
wicked  ;D

tomkracinovich

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #10 on: November 02, 2007, 09:48:25 PM »
 ;D
This would be a great upgrade if you can pull it off.  If you need beta testers for it I would be thrilled to volunteer. 

Corey, I have to say that your program would be a good value at 5 times the price (please donít take that as a suggestion).  When people ask how much the program costs and I tell them, they are shocked at how reasonable it is. 

Thanks.

Tom

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2007, 09:42:49 AM »
Thanks tomkracinovich, that was the goal.

I will most definitely be placing the new version, when ready, up for beta testing.  I would appreciate as many beta testers as possible, it will definitely need it.

As I said before, I'm pleased with the way things are going so far.  The only concern I have now is that it will likely "up" the minimum system requirements.  This is only natural as the tournament window will be open and updated constantly, which will place a bigger load on the CPU.

richielee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • The Scaffolders Arms
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #12 on: November 27, 2007, 01:46:07 PM »
Hi Corey, Firstly - great program, it really adds a touch of class to our tournaments.

I've been following this thread and a few others regarding the dual screen issue and I decided to try it out last week.
Initially we just cloned the screen on the second monitor and it works well, with the exception of players seeing the ins-and outs.

We have now swapped to an extended desktop and we drag the program onto the second larger screen viewed by the players and have all the dialogue boxes dragged onto the laptop screen. This works great and ensures the players mainly see the clock. It does have a couple of issues, as stated above, with dialogue boxes and with any access to the main tabs (seating mainly, but also prize tabs) being seen by the players. It's also near impossible to then run the program without an extended desktop when I'm in the house - I have to remember at the venue to put all the boxes back and I usually forget one!

My question is this, would it not be possible to launch a new window when the tournament button is pressed. This could then be dragged onto the extended monitor leaving the main program and all the dialogue boxes on the main monitor.

I'm sorry if this has already been asked/dismissed but thought it might be worth sticking my two pence in.

I would also be willing to beta test anything in this field for you.

Thanks again for a great program


Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #13 on: November 27, 2007, 02:43:42 PM »
Unfortunately, the answer is 'no'.  I've been trying for some time to work this issue out, and the only way I've managed to make it work is to have the main window (the first window that is displayed when you start the Tournament Director) display the Tournament screens, and when you want to access the Settings, open it in a modal dialog (modal being the kind of dialog in which you cannot access the window "underneath" (the window that opened the dialog) until you close the dialog).

So, essentially in the next version you should be able to have the Tournament window on one screen (displayed to players), and the Settings dialog open on the other screen.  You can open and close the Settings dialog at will, or simply leave it open the entire time.  However, you cannot access the Tournament screen while the Settings window is open.  Therefore, right-clicking on the Tournament screen to use the context menu, or using hotkeys associated with the Tournament screen (like X to bust a player out, etc), won't work while the Settings dialog is open.  You'll have to close it first.  In order to deal with this, I've added a "Control" tab to the Settings dialog, which simply contains all of the controls (in the form of buttons) you should need to run your tournament, like busting players out, pausing the clock, rebuying, etc, etc.  So, theoretically, in this example you should be able to run your entire tournament from the Settings dialog on your laptop (or desktop, whatever), while the Tournament screen is always displayed on the extended screen (to your players).

I have already tried this and it works well.  I understand the issue with where dialogs open up.  And now that you've mentioned that, I just realized that the preference to "save" dialog locations works fine, whether you close a dialog on the main screen or on the extended screen (it will remember correctly - at least it did on my laptop - different laptop manufacturers could implement the "extended" screen differently), so I need to look into seeing if I can better control where they open.  Would be nice if I can get all dialogs to simply open up on the screen on which the Settings dialog is located...

richielee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • The Scaffolders Arms
Re: Opening new windows for multi-monitors.
« Reply #14 on: November 27, 2007, 03:07:30 PM »
Excellent - sounds good - looking forward to the next version.

Thanks again