Author Topic: Vista  (Read 1381 times)

macacan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
    • View Profile
    • Chorley Poker League
Vista
« on: November 24, 2007, 09:04:45 AM »
Run first tourney last night on new laptop.

Had 2 big probs,

1,  half way through vist (windows) locked, black screen came on with some faults
had to switch laptop off and reboot,  ANY IDEA'S ?.

2  Every time a event happened with a sound the fault below came up, ANY IDEA'S.




Apaer from that it run fine

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5574
    • View Profile
Re: Vista
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2007, 12:00:02 PM »
Sorry, none.  That's one of the worst error messages I've ever seen.  No idea what actually caused the error, or even what program it's from.  You assume it was from the Tournament Director (and probably it was), but really, how do you know?  Maybe Vista itself had an error and it just happened to be when you were running the TD.  Certainly the title of the error dialog, "Bad Image", gives no indication it was from the TD when the TD was playing a sound.

Not to pass the buck, but if PC got a BSOD (blue screen of death, or is it black with Vista?), there's likely some other problem going on.

macacan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
    • View Profile
    • Chorley Poker League
Re: Vista
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2007, 01:00:58 PM »
Cheers anyway Corey.

Just googled it, nothing to do with TD, Vista is poop.

Thousands have this fault, might just get xp put on.
lot less bother.


macacan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 265
    • View Profile
    • Chorley Poker League
Re: Vista
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2007, 01:38:40 AM »
Just to let ppl know,

Have a sony lap top, nearly impossible to format then load xp.

All the drives have not been released by sony and we can't get
everything to run, no sound, ethernet, wireless, card reader and other stuff.
We managed to get the sound working but thats it.
Looks like I am going back to Vista >:(, but only the basic one.


Andy_Mc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Vista
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2007, 09:06:58 AM »
You can get round this by running TD in compatibility mode. Right click on the TD icon and go into properties, on the compatibility tab select XP. This will solve your problem.

You can thank one of my teckie poker playing mates for this. He fixed the issue when I first ran my first tournament on a new laptop with Vista.