Main > Help Me

Lang and others small problems with 3.4.1

(1/1)

mm48:
Hello,
I installed version 3.4.1 which works perfectly. Thank you very much.
However, I have 2 small problems :

1 I use TD in French version and in my lang directory I have the directory fr4 containing each of the translation files (set4) available on your site. In the preference tab, this set is set. Currently version 3.4.1 works perfectly in French, but at the launch of TD I have the message A.

2 At the launch of TD, I always have the message B.

Do you have an opportunity to stop having these messages?

Thank you

Corey Cooper:

--- Quote ---1 I use TD in French version and in my lang directory I have the directory fr4 containing each of the translation files (set4) available on your site. In the preference tab, this set is set. Currently version 3.4.1 works perfectly in French, but at the launch of TD I have the message A.

--- End quote ---

The latest version has a new screen, which has its own language file.  Since the language pack you're using is older, it doesn't include this file.  It's just a warning.  If you are annoyed enough by it to take action to make it go away, you can simply create a file named "messages.seatinglist.properties" in the folder listed in the warning message.  The file can be completely empty.  That should make it stop.


--- Quote ---2 At the launch of TD, I always have the message B.
--- End quote ---

The TD application only knows about your main display.  If you have additional displays, you can use them, by dragging TD windows to whichever display you want to use.  If you want to use them more efficiently, you can tell the TD about your other displays (how big they are and where they are located, virtually).  This is configured on the Preferences tab in the Extended Display category.  Then you can tell the TD to move the main window (when it is full-screened and thus has no title bar by which to drag it) to your extended display and possibly resize it if necessary.  By default, the TD will remember where your various windows are, including the Settings window, and open it in the same place again.

So, the scenario is: you've hooked up your laptop to an extended display.  So now you have your laptop's built-in display as well as the extended display.  You drag the Settings window to the Extended display and use it there.  Everything works great.  Later, you exit the TD and disconnect from the extended display.  Then you open up the TD.  Where's the Settings window?  It never appears to open.  Plus the main window is unresponsive.  You click on it but you just get the "ding" from Windows like the window is inaccessible.  Pressing the ESC key to open/close the Settings window appears to do nothing.  The TD appears frozen and you can't do anything with it.  You try to exit the TD but you can't, so you have to open the Task Manager and kill it.  Or worse, if you don't know how to do that, you reboot.  When you start the TD again, you get the same results.  What's going on?  The Settings window is actually opening in exactly the same place it was before - on the Extended display which is no longer connected, but the TD doesn't know that.  So you can't see the Settings window.  This confuses people.  In response, I added the special keypress Ctrl+Alt+Shift+F12, which moves all windows back to the main display.  This fixes it, but only if you know to do this.  In version 3.4, upon startup the TD checks to see where the Settings window is opening.  If it is opening off of the main display (whether or not if you have an Extended display or not, since the TD application doesn't know that), it gives you the chance to move it back.  There's no way to prevent this message today.  I could add a checkbox to disable it in the future, if it's that much of an issue.

mm48:

For message A, I understood no more message. thks.
For message B, explanation in English a little complicated for me, I do not change anything for now, I answer "Move the settings ..." and i go.

Thank you

Navigation

[0] Message Index

Go to full version