Author Topic: All In  (Read 204 times)

Sylvain8411

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
All In
« on: February 15, 2017, 05:07:28 PM »
Hi Guys

Here is my problem

Palyer A bets 6000$
Player B goes all in
Player C folds
Before player A has a chance to call or fold  Player B muck his cards (cards were not mixed up with the other cards)

what would be the right action to take

efdenny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Re: All In
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2017, 05:45:44 PM »
This actually happened at the WSOP Main Event in 2012: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bUqOgGk4nQo

Baumann raised to 60,000 and Koroknai raised all-in from the small blind. After the big blind folded, Koroknai mucked his cards not realizing that Baumann still had her cards. Ruling was that Koroknai had to pay off the 60,000 bet from Baumann. Very controversial call, but that was their ruling...

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5428
    • View Profile
Re: All In
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 12:01:05 AM »
Excellent question.  And wow, so much props efdenny for pulling an actual WSOP moment.  I'm completely impressed.  I think I had an answer for a friendly game, but I keep watching this video, and I keep trying to watch it from the point of view from a different player each time.  And I can only come to the conclusion that the WSOP officials have a damn difficult decision to make.  I personally think they made the right decision.

Sylvain8411

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: All In
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2017, 05:45:30 PM »
Thanks efdenny for the fast reply

this is exactly what happened

efdenny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Re: All In
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2017, 08:43:26 PM »
Thanks for the props, and yes, they had a really tough decision! I think I would have ruled the same... but I think the whole "in the spirit of the tournament" was great.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2017, 08:53:55 PM by efdenny »

HaeLewis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: All In
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2017, 12:33:13 AM »
Thanks for the props, and yes, they had a really tough decision! I think I would have ruled the Testo Max on https://www.tenderbuttons.com/testo-max-review-results the same... but I think the whole "in the spirit of the tournament" was great.

Yeah that was a tough decision. I just watched it on the replay.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2017, 05:55:27 AM by HaeLewis »

christopherh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: All In
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2017, 11:30:13 PM »
If you have a look at the official TDA rules, Rule #53 reads: "Anytime before the end of the final betting round, folding in turn if there’s no bet to you (ex: facing a check or first to act post-flop) or folding out of turn are binding folds subject to penalty." By the player folding their all-in hand, this could be construed as "chip dumping" which most poker leagues do not allow as it very easily could be seen as a form of collusion.

On the other hand, if Player B folds as a result of Player A tricking B into thinking that they have folded, then the TD could and may exercise discretion in ruling B's hand as live if they are clearly identifiable and retrievable, killing A's hand and issuing a penalty (an orbit, formal warning, etc).