Author Topic: 3.4 beta 2  (Read 6053 times)

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #30 on: July 26, 2016, 02:25:40 PM »
Within minutes of my last post....the image is printing when I enter the full URL of the image (C:\Users\jodyb\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data\images/express.jpg), but not with the <datastore> token or the
<img src="../images/express.jpg" width="240" height="174"> html

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #31 on: July 26, 2016, 09:42:21 PM »
That's basically what I saw.  Full URL works.  Relative URLs should work too, but of course are relative to the receipt file's location.

The <datastore> token isn't being replaced, but I'm not sure it was ever supported in receipt templates.  I can certainly add it.  I have a to-do to make a set of the more common/generic tokens work for every export (more consistency).

shushs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #32 on: August 12, 2016, 06:01:44 PM »
The answer may be in the forums... but is there a way to roll back to 3.4beta1? The 'key press' stutter, and having to click multiple times (some times) is just not conducive to running a tournament. I have been struggling for a while, but it finally has me beaten. 

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #33 on: August 15, 2016, 03:28:03 PM »
If you want to install beta 1, just follow the same link at the start of this thread, but change the b2 to b1:

http://www.thetournamentdirector.net/TournamentDirector34b1.exe

The earlier beta is still there for now.  I usually don't allow a rollback in this way just to keep people moving forward, but if you want to give this a try, go for it.  If it works, please share with us, at least I'd have something more concrete to work with.  But this issue is not a beta version issue - it affects all versions of the TD.  In fact, it will affect any HTML application that still uses Internet Explorer.  It's really a Windows 10 issue.

shushs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #34 on: August 15, 2016, 03:53:27 PM »
Well, if it is Windows 10 that is the culprit, then please excuse my finger pointing. I've had and used your product for quite some time, and I am extremely happy with it. I will see if I can dredge up an older Windows machine and test b2 out on it.

Akentut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #35 on: September 15, 2016, 01:01:08 PM »
The answer may be in the forums... but is there a way to roll back to 3.4beta1? The 'key press' stutter, and having to click multiple times (some times) is just not conducive to running a tournament. I have been struggling for a while, but it finally has me beaten.
I  have the same issue. I wiped my AIO Dell, Since I'm MS Cert, I have a full new copy of Win 10 Pro 1607. Which I did a format and install, only installed antivirus and then Ver. 3.4b2 and still have the keyboard or even mouse click issue. Sometimes having to click the mouse 3 or 4 times for something to happen. Even the touch screen has the same issue. I'll install b1 and see if that helps. This is about as clean an install as I can do. I'll report back.

Tnx

Akentut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #36 on: September 20, 2016, 10:05:46 PM »
Update on keyboard/Mouse pause and stutter. I found while using Actiontec screen beam, which I use to broadcast my PC screen to a TV in another room as I run two tables, the software is running a file that uses approx. 15% CPU time. I disabled it after my screen was active and the problem almost went away completely. I have since updated the Actiontec firmware and software and have a major improvement in the keyboard and mouse actions. Hopefully this will be the end of it. Or I can just use an HDMI cable from my PC to the other TV to solve the CPU usage by that software.

The file is Awdtsp.exe which needs to be running in order to broadcast the video.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #37 on: September 21, 2016, 10:03:17 AM »
Very interesting.  Thank you for the followup on this.  Although it seems unlikely that this same program is the ultimate cause of the problem - more likely it is just exacerbating it.  Helpful nonetheless.  Thanks!

Akentut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #38 on: October 05, 2016, 03:32:29 PM »
Well that didn't fix it. Now I have had numerous crashes when the timer counts down to 00:01 then stops and locks up the program. I does restart when I reload as autosave was on. Working on uninstalling KB3194496 that was just installed to see if that's fixed.

Akentut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #39 on: October 05, 2016, 10:06:31 PM »
Success! I uninstalled the latest cumulative update kb3194496 and all is running. No stutter on keyboard entries or mouse clicks and the freeze at one second is also gone. Seems there is numerous files that are updated with the last update. I don't think I'll try to find the one or ones that are culprit, but the list is very large.

It maybe in your best interest to see what files TTD is using and go from there. I used to be a programmer and used a lot of DLL files from MS, but I don't know what ones you use. I've an idea that one of those has changed or been updated. You can get the list from http://www.microsoft.com/?kbid=3194496


Alan

Akentut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #40 on: October 06, 2016, 01:23:22 PM »
Yeah! Ran tournament for 3 1/2 hours and no failures, freezes or slow keyboard/mouse. Everything back to normal, sound, setup screen, pause, etc. Also disabled windows updates, by going into services, find wuauserv and disabled.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #41 on: October 10, 2016, 03:11:01 PM »
Thanks for the update!  I'll uninstall KB3194496 and see what happens.

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #42 on: October 25, 2016, 04:39:44 PM »
Can you build in a dialog that pops up if a user tries to buy-in more than 1 player at a time? One of my guys here accidentally selected all the players in the DB and added to the tourney and he kinda got a shock when the thermal printer spit out 200 receipts!
It was good for aq laugh but took a bit of work to remove the extra names.
Thanks

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #43 on: October 27, 2016, 10:56:53 AM »
A preference to warn if more than N buy-ins (or rebuys or add-ons) are purchased at once?  Probably not too difficult.  I'll look into it.

RichieD

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #44 on: November 06, 2016, 05:33:57 PM »
 :( :( :(
v3.4 beta 2 has let me down once again..
This time it froze part way through a screen transition, interestingly right clicking on the frozen display brought up a dialog for TD selections, but any selections weren't satisfied.
From the task manager the mshta process was >1Gb of Private working set memory.. and INCREASING even whilst frozen.
The only way out was to kill the process and re-start TD.

I've had VERY similar instances of freezing on 3.4 B2 after approx. 4.5hrs of operation, so I'd be inclined to suggest that there might be a memory leak somewhere!
The problem I now have, is that I'd like to go back to v3.3 (which NEVER crashed/froze) but the tournament files aren't compatible..
Any easy fix to allow 3.4B2 files to revert to v3.3???

I'm using Win 7 x64