Author Topic: 3.4 beta 2  (Read 5557 times)

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5379
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #15 on: May 03, 2016, 11:30:30 AM »
Happy to report no problems at all with the software during a 9 hour tournament yesterday, running on Windows 10.

Awesome, thanks for the info.  :)

Ben Jennings

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #16 on: May 23, 2016, 12:41:33 PM »
Hi Corey,

Started having problems with the save/load buttons not working again in the previous version I was using so have just downloaded 3.4 and they do seem to be working now. I recreated the last tournament I ran and went through all the motions with no problems, so I think it's all good   :D

On a side note, I noticed that when bringing up a menu list by right-clicking something (I only did this on the layout section) the menu wasn't bound by the edges of the screen as would normally happen. Just thought I would mention it...

cheers for all the hard work
Ben

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5379
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #17 on: May 26, 2016, 04:08:55 PM »
Good to know, Ben!  Thanks!

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #18 on: June 17, 2016, 10:47:32 AM »
I think I'll install my TD and start playing around with it again. I haven't run a tournament in a few years and haven't played either but I enjoyed working with TD. I'll do the beta this weekend and take some time to familiarize myself with it again and hopefully get active on the forums again!

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5379
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #19 on: June 17, 2016, 10:51:23 AM »
I think I'll install my TD and start playing around with it again. I haven't run a tournament in a few years and haven't played either but I enjoyed working with TD. I'll do the beta this weekend and take some time to familiarize myself with it again and hopefully get active on the forums again!

Nice to have you back, jodybingo!

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #20 on: July 01, 2016, 01:52:37 PM »
Hi Corey.
The Main Window looks great! (compared to the main window in previous versions).
I had a few ideas in mind before I stopped working in poker and I'll run them by you.
Towards the end of my poker career I was going to suggest allowing a way for players to leave a deposit on tournaments. While at Playground Poker Club we had several tournaments where the buy-in was over $3000 and $5000. We allowed people to make payments on the tournament and kept a spreadsheet for this. I was hoping, one day, TD would be able to do this as well. At the club we had one computer running our tournaments and always had a laptop at the tourney desk with TD running just in case. If TD would allow players to leave deposits on a tournament we could keep the laptop running the major tourney and enter in amounts. With the current version there is kind of a workaround. I am able to use a rebuy or an add-on to achieve this. I override the rebuy or add-on amount to reflect a theoretical payment and the amount paid shows up on the Players Tab. Then I came across an issue with what I tried to do. The receipts don't print any rebuy or add-on information purchased at the time of buy-in. So I was unable to print the amount paid to date. If possible,  a menu when right-clicking that would print player information (table/seat, buy-in, rebuy, add-on info). We had tournaments where players could purchase an initial add-on or rebuy before the start of the tournament and being able to sell this at the tournament counter would offer a bit more control over the number of add-ons/rebuys purchased. Or dealers would also handle less money at the table (the player could give the receipt and give the chips for add-ons/rebuys if it is shown on the receipt).
I'll be back when I explore the beta version a bit deeper!

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #21 on: July 03, 2016, 02:29:55 PM »
From the Player's Tab after a Buy-In. TD also crashed and completely shut down.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5379
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #22 on: July 05, 2016, 04:30:17 PM »
Hi Corey.
The Main Window looks great! (compared to the main window in previous versions).
I had a few ideas in mind before I stopped working in poker and I'll run them by you.
Towards the end of my poker career I was going to suggest allowing a way for players to leave a deposit on tournaments. While at Playground Poker Club we had several tournaments where the buy-in was over $3000 and $5000. We allowed people to make payments on the tournament and kept a spreadsheet for this. I was hoping, one day, TD would be able to do this as well. At the club we had one computer running our tournaments and always had a laptop at the tourney desk with TD running just in case. If TD would allow players to leave deposits on a tournament we could keep the laptop running the major tourney and enter in amounts. With the current version there is kind of a workaround. I am able to use a rebuy or an add-on to achieve this. I override the rebuy or add-on amount to reflect a theoretical payment and the amount paid shows up on the Players Tab. Then I came across an issue with what I tried to do. The receipts don't print any rebuy or add-on information purchased at the time of buy-in. So I was unable to print the amount paid to date. If possible,  a menu when right-clicking that would print player information (table/seat, buy-in, rebuy, add-on info). We had tournaments where players could purchase an initial add-on or rebuy before the start of the tournament and being able to sell this at the tournament counter would offer a bit more control over the number of add-ons/rebuys purchased. Or dealers would also handle less money at the table (the player could give the receipt and give the chips for add-ons/rebuys if it is shown on the receipt).
I'll be back when I explore the beta version a bit deeper!

Couldn't you just buy the player into the tournament for however much they deposited, and then increase their buy-in for each additional deposit?  You could use the "Paid in full" box to indicate that they were fully paid up.  For example, buy the player into the tournament for $500 when they make the first payment, then increase their buy-in to $1500 when they paid the next $1000.

Or are you wanting to keep a ledger of sorts?  I mean, you want the TD to record each payment, where you could look back and see that someone paid $500 on this date, and then another $1000 on that date, etc.?

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5379
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #23 on: July 05, 2016, 04:37:45 PM »
From the Player's Tab after a Buy-In. TD also crashed and completely shut down.

Well that sucks.  As obvious as it looks, it sounds like IE ran out of memory (probably your PC had plenty of memory, but the amount allocated by IE wasn't enough).  I know there is a memory leak of some kind.  I spent a good amount of time last year trying to figure out where it was, but eventually decided I had to move on.  The leak has been there since at least version 3.1, if I recall correctly, so I figured it wasn't crucial to fix it ASAP.  If you see this again, take a look at the mshta.exe process in the task manager and see how big the memory size is.  My development version starts up at about 100 to 150MB, and will go up over time, particularly if screens in the main window change often.  Once it gets to over 1GB in size (can't remember exactly where, maybe 1.7GB?) it may become unresponsive and/or crash.

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #24 on: July 05, 2016, 10:00:50 PM »
//Couldn't you just buy the player into the tournament for however much they deposited, and then increase their buy-in for each additional deposit?  You could use the "Paid in full" box to indicate that they were fully paid up.  For example, buy the player into the tournament for $500 when they make the first payment, then increase their buy-in to $1500 when they paid the next $1000.

Or are you wanting to keep a ledger of sorts?  I mean, you want the TD to record each payment, where you could look back and see that someone paid $500 on this date, and then another $1000 on that date, etc.?//

 When I was in poker I was hoping to be able to look back at their payments but even while recording them in a spreadsheet the need to do so never came up. I hadn't thought about just using the buy-in option though.

//Well that sucks.  As obvious as it looks, it sounds like IE ran out of memory (probably your PC had plenty of memory, but the amount allocated by IE wasn't enough).  I know there is a memory leak of some kind.  I spent a good amount of time last year trying to figure out where it was, but eventually decided I had to move on.  The leak has been there since at least version 3.1, if I recall correctly, so I figured it wasn't crucial to fix it ASAP.  If you see this again, take a look at the mshta.exe process in the task manager and see how big the memory size is.  My development version starts up at about 100 to 150MB, and will go up over time, particularly if screens in the main window change often.  Once it gets to over 1GB in size (can't remember exactly where, maybe 1.7GB?) it may become unresponsive and/or crash.//

 I had to screenshot the error message because there wasn't an option to copy to clipboard. Not sure when you decided to remove that option but I got the message through. I'll have time tomorrow after work to play around after work so I'll see if I can recreate the crash.

I tried looking on the forums and in the help files but couldn't find what I was looking for... can you explain to me the itemN and amountN work when exporting to reciepts?
Thanks
- Jody

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5379
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #25 on: July 07, 2016, 07:41:25 PM »
Quote
I had to screenshot the error message because there wasn't an option to copy to clipboard. Not sure when you decided to remove that option but I got the message through

That option has not been removed.  It's possible you saw a different error message.  The TD tries to capture error messages, but IE isn't always cooperative.

Quote
I tried looking on the forums and in the help files but couldn't find what I was looking for... can you explain to me the itemN and amountN work when exporting to reciepts?

"item" is a generic term for a line-item on a receipt.  Anything that adds up to the total value.  For example, for a buy-in there will be a rebuy cost (the fee) and possibly a bounty chip cost.  For a rebuy, there will be a be a rebuy cost (again, the fee) and again, possible a bounty chip cost.  For an add-on there will only be an add-on cost.

The idea was to make these generic terms, instead of "buyin" and "rebuy" and "addon" which would necessitate different templates for different types of receipts.  Of course, it seems obvious I could have just gone with "fee", but there's also the bounty chip cost, which may or may not be on a receipt.  Further, the code was written to allow additional fees as well, in case there were other line items that needed to be represented (although I'm not sure that is exposed anywhere in the code).

Bottom line, if you're hosting a tournament all you need are line0, amount0 (for the buy-in/rebuy/add-on fee) and possibly line1, amount1 (for the bounty chip) in your receipt template to represent the fees/costs to a player.

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #26 on: July 25, 2016, 02:03:38 PM »
Hi Corey.
Not sure if it's me or...I played with a receipt printer this weekend and can't get an image to print. The generated HTML shows an image on the top of the receipt but the printer (Epson TM IV-88) gives me an X (broken link). I tried placing the image in the images folder, templates folder and eslewhere on the hard drive. I used the <datastore>/images and <datastore>/template. I wrote out the full URL of the image and it still won't print the image.

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #27 on: July 25, 2016, 10:19:24 PM »
To add a bit more information.
I'm using Dreamweaver to build a receipt. Using the beta version (and checking the HTML code after export) I see the <datastore> token is inserted even if I didn't use it to begin with. When using the same receipt template with the older version the image (logo) is printing fine.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5379
    • View Profile
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #28 on: July 25, 2016, 11:52:42 PM »
What does the template look like and what does the resulting HTML look like?  The image (<img ...>)tag should be enough to see what might be going on.

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: 3.4 beta 2
« Reply #29 on: July 26, 2016, 02:18:05 PM »
The code from the template and the output file is identical (see below). At first, from my PC (and the official version) the print settings within IE had the "print background colors and images" unchecked. After activating that feature the image printed on the receipt. From my laptop (and the beta version) I had to activate that option in IE but the images still aren't printing.

Dreamweaver gives me this in the template:
<tr>
          <td align="center" style="font-size: 36pt"><nobr><img src="../images/express.jpg" width="240" height="174"></nobr></td>
        </tr>
And from the older version of TD (on another PC it prints fine.

Output gives me this
<tr>
          <td align="center" style="font-size: 36pt"><nobr><img src="../images/express.jpg" width="240" height="174"></nobr></td>
        </tr>