Author Topic: Balancing tables with respect to dealer button position  (Read 662 times)

ScottN.

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Balancing tables with respect to dealer button position
« on: September 17, 2015, 08:13:59 PM »
Hi, I'm sure this has been beat to death here, but I couldn't seem to find the answer that I am looking for.  I am helping a charity organization with their fundraiser tournament.  They are using software version 2.5.11.  When the software wants to balance the tables, it doesn't take into account the position of the dealer button, which, understandably results in players, at times, paying two big blinds in a row or getting moved into the big blind when they should be the button on the next hand at table they are currently seated at.  I read the FAQ section and tried the suggestion there, to not move anybody, then set the button, then let the software balance the tables.  The problem I have is that I can only assign the button either randomly or in  a specific seat at each table.  Hands don't play at the same speed on-line, never mind in a tournament where the dealers are all volunteers and many have never played poker, resulting in the button being in different seats at each table, defeating the purpose of the whole exercise.  Is there any way that the button can be assigned at each table individually when the software wants to balance tables?  Is this problem something that is addressed in the newest version?  Thanks in advance.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5380
    • View Profile
Re: Balancing tables with respect to dealer button position
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2015, 09:47:42 PM »
On the Tables tab, right-click on any seat and select "Set dealer button".

In version 3 or later, you can set the dealer button on the Tables tab more quickly by simply middle-clicking any seat.

In version 3.2 or later, the "Set Dealer Buttons" dialog has been expanded such that, in addition to the options to set the buttons randomly or at a specific seat at each table, each table is displayed and you can quickly click on seats to set the button.  Also, the Player Movement dialog has a button to open this dialog.  Now, instead of canceling the Player Movement dialog, setting the buttons, and then telling the software to suggest movement again, one can quickly open the Set Dealer Buttons dialog directly from the Player Movement dialog, set the buttons, and when done the software will automatically suggest movement with respect to the buttons.

ScottN.

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Balancing tables with respect to dealer button position
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2015, 09:54:50 PM »
On the Tables tab, right-click on any seat and select "Set dealer button".

In version 3 or later, you can set the dealer button on the Tables tab more quickly by simply middle-clicking any seat.

In version 3.2 or later, the "Set Dealer Buttons" dialog has been expanded such that, in addition to the options to set the buttons randomly or at a specific seat at each table, each table is displayed and you can quickly click on seats to set the button.  Also, the Player Movement dialog has a button to open this dialog.  Now, instead of canceling the Player Movement dialog, setting the buttons, and then telling the software to suggest movement again, one can quickly open the Set Dealer Buttons dialog directly from the Player Movement dialog, set the buttons, and when done the software will automatically suggest movement with respect to the buttons.

I suspected that updating the software my help with the problem.  Thanks.

Seitz333

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: Balancing tables with respect to dealer button position
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2015, 11:16:16 PM »
If you are using TDA rules (which everybody should...) you should not have this problem. When balancing tables you always move the up coming Big Blind to the worst position at the new table. When breaking tables players assume the seat they given which means they can come into the big blind after just leaving the last table as the big blind or any other position.

I know this is not a software answer but it should take care of the problem.

Chuck