Author Topic: Custom Layouts  (Read 19499 times)

brenner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Custom Layouts
« on: November 24, 2006, 05:28:33 AM »
I have been using this software for 2 years now, and I love it.  I am very inspired to create my own layouts.  I am good with Excel and Powerpoint but I have no knowledge of HTML or anything to do with Webpage Layouts.

Am I too novice to be able to figure out the layouts and screen sets or do I just need to keep playing?

No offense to Corey, I just think I am a little green when it comes to this sort of thing.  I have figured out how to add/delete certain sections but I want to be able to create a layout from scratch based on my own ideas; it just doesn't seem to translate in TD.

Any advice to someone who wants to customize?

Thanks!
"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."

tandemrx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2006, 08:21:00 AM »
Just try it on a test game/layout and play for a while.

You need very little to no HTML experience to customize a TD layout - it helps some to know some of the HTML tags, but it really isn't necessary, Corey has built so much into the program that TD takes care of a lot of the layout for you.  You could create a decent TD layout with no knowledge of HTML.

Here is a nice little web site that has a non-fancy, easy to follow tutorial for basic HTML (bottom of the page) - this isn't rocket science by any means.  The same web site has a list of HTML tags and tells you what they do and what kind of attributes they can take.

http://www.html-reference.com/index.htm

I won't say that it doesn't take some time to set up a nice layout and if you want to add graphics and logo's then you have to know a little about picture editing and have at least a rudimentary image editing software - but again, not a lot of rocket science required.

You don't want the layout too complicated anyway - otherwise it will be hard to read.  I used to have multiple screen sets that would scroll during a tournament.  I keep taking out screens because the main screen that shows the blinds and the round timer are the most important items for the groups I play with.

brenner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2006, 10:50:27 AM »
Thanks for your feedback.  Sometimes it is just easier to have someone show you the first time instead of reading and trying to figure it out; but I will keep trying.

I really like the layout Hollywood Poker has for their Tournament clock and I am trying to base mine on it, but the issue I kept having was what order to add the columns and rows since sometimes you get stuck based on what row is part of what column and vice-versa.

"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."

tandemrx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2006, 12:50:50 PM »
How are you going to display your TD screen?

Big monitors, TVs, projector?

Part of your layout decision is how big your display is going to be.

I have two or three 19 to 21 inch monitors around the room depending on how many tables going (2 monitors for 1 table, 3 monitors for more).

I find that I have to somewhat limit what I put on one screen, otherwise the font sizes have to be small and you can't read anything anyway.

Something to think about as you plan your layout.

The Hollywood layout is quite nice, but for me, the info would be displayed too small on the monitors that I use, so I would have to delete some elements.

If you were using bigger screens, then it might be a very nice layout and you could whip up something similar in short order.

Good luck and when you run into problems the forum will no doubt help.


brenner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2006, 06:08:45 PM »
I have a 60" lcd rear proj, so I haven't really had to worry about Font size, except for the Clock/Blinds since you can see the TV from the other room.

I have been looking into wireless VGA for my other tables (2 are within view of the clock and 2 are actually in another room).  Right now it's a $250 solution.

How are you repeating your clock?  Are all of the monitors hooked up to the same PC or do you have a solution that is easy to implement?

My other room is more than 20' away, so running an addtional monitor cable is not an option.
"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."

tandemrx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2006, 11:40:28 PM »
I use a video/audio splitter/extender connected to the laptop (Got mine at Globalcomputer.com but you could probably find others).

http://tinyurl.com/yafl7z

One monitor uses a 35 foot cable, the second uses a 25 foot cable connected to an older laptop and I lose no video quality.  Splitter/extender is advertised as being able to extend to 200+ feet without loss of video quality.

I got the model that has 4 video out ports and 4 audio out ports.  Then I bought a "cables to go" brand monitor cable that also has an audio cable in it so that I could send the audio to where my distant monitor is too (http://tinyurl.com/yed4x8)

If you don't need sound (although it sounds like you might if you are using a separate room), then they have video splitters without the audio option that are cheaper (and then obviously you wouldn't need the monitor/audio combined cable.

They also have a "2 video port out" model available (both with or without audeo out) that is obviously cheaper than the 4-port job (and you can daisy chain any of these to multiply your monitors.

So, say you don't need sound in your second room, you could get a 50 foot monitor cable for probably $20-25 and the 2-port video splitter for $35-40 and you are good to go for maybe $60.

I think I did it with the 4-port audio/video with 35ft audio/video cable for close to$100.

Very pleased.

brenner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2006, 02:30:06 AM »
Wow, excellent solution.  I am definately going to check this out.

Thanks!
"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."

tandemrx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2006, 08:14:09 AM »
I am absolutely no expert on this video out thing, so I don't know how far you could get without some type of "booster", but they do make simple "Y-connector cables" that will send video out to 2 separate monitors for quite cheap.

Something like this http://tinyurl.com/uru5c
for $15 could get you 2 monitors going if that is all you need.

I have no clue how far away from your computer you could get with that second monitor with this solution.  someone posted on this forum about having success with this solution - I can't find the post.

I think it is aweful handy to have audio going to that separate room though - just my preference maybe, but I like to have dedicated dealers and it is handy to have some type of notification of the end of a round so the dealers have an audio cue without yelling from the other room to confirm the increase in blinds.

brenner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2006, 09:50:59 AM »
Well, the rooms aren't so far away that they can't hear the clock beeping.  So sound has never been an issue, but it is good thing to think about.
"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."

violator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #9 on: December 27, 2006, 02:48:36 PM »
Brenner,
I was wondering if you had done anything with the hollywood poker layout, I would be interested in seeing out it came out
Vio

brenner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2006, 10:16:35 AM »
Actually, I just modified the default layout.  It is pretty difficult to get the areas to match the Hollywood Poker layout.  I will probably keep trying.
"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."

PPPanimal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2007, 12:53:55 AM »
do you have a copy of the background image hollywood poker uses that you could post?
I would like to play around with that sometime too.

PPPanimal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2007, 12:26:53 AM »
Here is a cool background i found.  I used it for my Rankings page.  Here is a sample and the original if you wish to use it.

This is the code i used to setup the fonts and move the text down into the middle of the page.

<br><table border=0 cellspacing=0 cellpadding=0><tr><td style='font-family: Arial; font-size: 36pt; font-weight: bold; color: #000000; filter: dropshadow(OffX=0, OffY=0, Color=#000000);'><br><br>Player Rankings</td></tr></table>

The layout properties are:
times new roman
bold
font size 24

« Last Edit: February 20, 2007, 12:39:44 AM by PPPanimal »

PPPanimal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #13 on: February 20, 2007, 01:18:47 AM »
Well i am sharing, might as well show ya my current layout.  I will include the template if you wish to use this. 

I know a number of guys were interested in having rankings on the main page
and also having a pre tournament screen showing stats
aswell as having buttons on the main screen. 
This might save you some time.

Put the logos in your images folder, and the YTDSTATS goes in your saves folder.  Just export your stats to this file so your stats will show rather than mine.  If you have more players than me, then you will have to edit the stats cell height and width so all your players will show, or turn on the scrolling option.

EDIT: I just got thinking, your path to your saves and image folders will be different from mine.  If so you will not see an image.  Just right click the box where the image should be and edit the text in the HTML box.  i.e. Change the C:\GAMES to C:\PROGRAM FILES or whatever your path to TD is.

<iframe src="C:\Games\The Tournament Director 2\saves\ytdstats.html" height=370 width=780 scrolling=no></iframe>
<img src="C:\Games\The Tournament Director 2\images\Home Series of Poker Emblem.JPG" border="0">
« Last Edit: February 20, 2007, 02:18:23 AM by PPPanimal »

mdsd77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Layouts
« Reply #14 on: February 27, 2007, 07:15:43 PM »
pppAnimal...thank you !

looks great...and yes path change solves problem w/ graphics.

very simple fix.