Author Topic: TD Error  (Read 5465 times)

TIMMER

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
    • View Profile
TD Error
« on: January 29, 2014, 02:08:40 PM »
no clue about this

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5420
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2014, 04:46:24 PM »
When cells are rendered on the Tournament screen, references to each cell are placed in a cache.  When the screen is updated, all the cells with references in the cache are updated.  This error is happening because a reference in the cache doesn't point to a cell.  Somehow.  When are you seeing this?  And do you see it consistently?

TIMMER

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2014, 07:32:50 PM »
I was setting up Tokens & Banners when it pop-up...and as for as how many, just the once, but then again i shut it down after that...had to leave.

TIMMER

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2014, 07:30:33 PM »
 Control tab, select screen stopped working, won't select

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5420
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2014, 10:17:37 PM »
Control tab, select screen stopped working, won't select

Interesting.  What I just discovered is that if you view the Controls tab, then go to the Layout tab and add or remove a screen, or load a layout with different screens, then go back to the Controls tab, the "Select screen:" input isn't updated.  I don't know if this is the same thing you're seeing.  Does it sound like it?

I think this is a caching issue that has probably been there for a long time.

TIMMER

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2014, 07:47:07 AM »
Yep, that's it.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5420
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2014, 11:38:25 AM »
OK, thanks for confirming.  I verified it's been there since the introduction of the Controls tab in 2.5.  It's an easy fix.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5420
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2014, 12:42:04 PM »
I was setting up Tokens & Banners when it pop-up...and as for as how many, just the once, but then again i shut it down after that...had to leave.

These errors are starting to show up in previous versions of the software, so it's starting to appear that this isn't a beta issue.  Still don't know what is causing it, but it seems more likely some something in IE (or Windows) changed.  I've put in some code to [hopefully] catch the errors.  Won't know for sure if it works because, as usual, I can't replicate the issue.

TIMMER

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2014, 03:53:09 PM »
I ain't seen it since that day. Don't know if this matters, but that layout was made with beta 3.2.b4 on my desktop with no problems only when I flash drive it to the new laptop is when I seen it. ( desktop window 7 )  ( laptop windows 8 )

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5420
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2014, 04:54:42 PM »
Any information is helpful, so thank you.

TIMMER

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #10 on: February 26, 2014, 05:22:19 PM »
'undefined' is null or not an object (LayoutTab, TournamentPage: 1000)
 at TournamentPage.displayCell(String, Boolean, GameState, Map)
 at TournamentPage.update_TypeStandard()
 at TournamentPage.update(Boolean)
 at TournamentPage.enterByRotationHandler()
 at GameWindow.enterPage(String, Boolean)
 at GameWindow.enterPageByRotation(String)
 at ScreenRotation.render()
 at ScreenRotation.update(LO.ScreenRef)
 at ScreenRotation.selectScreen(Number)
 at TournamentPage.hotkeyHandler(Unknown, Hotkey.HKDef, Hotkey.Binding)
 at GameWindow.hotkey()
 at GameWindow.hotkeyHandler()

Browser: Microsoft Internet Explorer
Browser Beta: false
Browser Client Info Version: 7.0
Browser Code Name: Mozilla
Browser Decided Version: 11.0
Browser Detected Version: 11.0
Browser Language: en-US
Browser Minor Version: 0
Browser Version: 4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 6.2; WOW64; Trident/7.0; .NET4.0E; .NET4.0C; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Tablet PC 2.0; MAARJS)
Cookies Enabled: true
CPU Class: x86
Data Folder: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2
Date: 5:19:10 pm 02/26/2014
DB File: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data\db\td.db
DB Folder: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data\db
Install Folder: C:\Program Files (x86)\The Tournament Director 3
Install Info: bcf29ba333bbb76968495b9dfe15c7b0f9c086bbefde0f0a968715f18483c3943c7164e839485ebecbacb3495e1185a67e83843f7400c91eb0c12acb801f1363b48a1238ad36f72d
JScript Build: 16384
JScript Version: 5.8
License Info: X+vH4mVg5zFt6oBMwKJRmsn3zEzgRcJnrMaJlsC4UylKl2ch/tyOHZT4FrFeRWL/4OGBPIIJosnpMgvN533JJmDo8cv9fBe+9/OXCJ5+2dY=
Media Player Version: 12.0.9600.16384
Online: true
Platform: Win32
Preferences File: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\prefs.sav
Preferences FS File: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\prefs.fs
Repo Config File: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\repo.sav
Repo Folder: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data
Support Key: 3B6ADBFA443D2B4796918DA5NDD7E034C57884F6A944
System Language: en-US
TD Patch Level: null
TD Version: 3.3.b1
User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 6.2; WOW64; Trident/7.0; .NET4.0E; .NET4.0C; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Tablet PC 2.0; MAARJS)
User Language: en-US


Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5420
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2014, 08:58:18 AM »
I see you got that again with version 3.3.b1.  I'm curious to see if it will still happen in b2.  Not that I found the issue, but I did add a bunch of (what should be unnecessary) error checking in the code where it appears that is originating.  That's one of the things that's so frustrating about working in the TD's IE framework: that error information is a stack trace which is supposed to pinpoint exactly where in the code the error occurred (and how the program actually got to that point in the code).  But most of the error reports I see are just completely wrong.  There are multiple points of execution in the program at any given time (the clock is running in the background, the screen is being updated, you might be adding players in a dialog), and when an error occurs, instead of giving the information on that point of execution where the error occurred, it's almost as if IE picks one of them at random, so the error information has about a 50/50 chance (or more) of being a complete red herring.  Arg!

TIMMER

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2014, 10:52:20 AM »
More then likely this ain't nothing  ???

'null' is null or not an object (EventsTab, TournamentPage: 432)
 at DTable.setHandlers()
 at EventsTab._updateSoundsFieldset()
 at anonymous()
 at openDialog(SettingsDialog)
 at SettingsDialog.openDialog()
 at SettingsDialog.enterTab()
 at Hotkey.handleCommonHotkeyActions(Hotkey.Binding)
 at GameWindow.hotkey()
 at GameWindow.hotkeyHandler()

Browser: Microsoft Internet Explorer
Browser Beta: false
Browser Client Info Version: 7.0
Browser Code Name: Mozilla
Browser Decided Version: 11.0
Browser Detected Version: 11.0
Browser Language: en-US
Browser Minor Version: 0
Browser Version: 4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 6.2; WOW64; Trident/7.0; .NET4.0E; .NET4.0C; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Tablet PC 2.0; MAARJS)
Cookies Enabled: true
CPU Class: x86
Data Folder: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2
Date: 11:19:15 am 03/23/2014
DB File: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data\db\td.db
DB Folder: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data\db
Install Folder: C:\Program Files (x86)\The Tournament Director 3
Install Info: bcf29ba333bbb76968495b9dfe15c7b0f9c086bbefde0f0a968715f18483c3943c7164e839485ebecbacb3495e1185a67e83843f7400c91eb0c12acb801f136350a7ad3e9654ce44730dce9cd167ce7ecc45a0de0a582cddd2c2168774484fde
JScript Build: 16384
JScript Version: 5.8
License Info: X+vH4mVg5zFt6oBMwKJRmsn3zEzgRcJnrMaJlsC4UylKl2ch/tyOHZT4FrFeRWL/4OGBPIIJosnpMgvN533JJmDo8cv9fBe+9/OXCJ5+2dY=
Media Player Version: 12.0.9600.16384
Online: true
Platform: Win32
Preferences File: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\prefs.sav
Preferences FS File: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\prefs.fs
Repo Config File: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\repo.sav
Repo Folder: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data
Support Key: 5477N66AA78D3540B9F844AE8396AF34C9B2DDD44
System Language: en-US
TD Patch Level: 2
TD Version: 3.3
User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 6.2; WOW64; Trident/7.0; .NET4.0E; .NET4.0C; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Tablet PC 2.0; MAARJS)
User Language: en-US


Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5420
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2014, 11:11:22 AM »
More then likely this ain't nothing  ???

'null' is null or not an object (EventsTab, TournamentPage: 432)
 at DTable.setHandlers()
 at EventsTab._updateSoundsFieldset()
 at anonymous()
 at openDialog(SettingsDialog)
 at SettingsDialog.openDialog()
 at SettingsDialog.enterTab()
 at Hotkey.handleCommonHotkeyActions(Hotkey.Binding)
 at GameWindow.hotkey()
 at GameWindow.hotkeyHandler()

Nothing to worry about, definitely.  It's an Internet Explorer issue.   Just ignore it.

When I began writing version 2 of the TD, I decided any errors should be prominent (to the user) so they could be reported to me and I could fix them.  Recently I've decided this was the wrong approach.  I couldn't have really known this in the beginning, but it turns out IE triggers a lot of things that should NOT be errors but nevertheless manifest themselves as errors in the application.  Most are things like you've reported.  Probably the ramification of the error you see is that clicking on one specific column on that page won't do anything (it should sort by that column).  When you close the Settings window and open it again, clicking on that column will probably work again.  The likelihood that you would even click that column, that time, is so low (coupled with the fact that there's nothing I can do about it) means really the error should have just been ignored.  It should just ignore it and keep going.

Starting in version 3.2 I began targeting places in the code where stuff like this happens, and changing the code so that these types of errors are ignored.  Hopefully you'll see fewer things like this in future versions.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5420
    • View Profile
Re: TD Error
« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2014, 11:12:55 AM »
PS.  Thanks for posting it, though.  These types of errors are seemingly random, and for whatever reason I almost never see them.  So by reporting them I know to "wrap up" the code, so to speak.