Author Topic: No Problems  (Read 3404 times)

IBuyCars

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
No Problems
« on: January 10, 2014, 06:12:24 AM »
I've been testing the beta version since the day of release, not one problem todate, the new multiple re-buy / add-on feature is brilliant and save so many key strokes.

would love more info about the status update feature though

Regards

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5429
    • View Profile
Re: No Problems
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2014, 09:25:25 AM »
Thanks very much for your input.  This is the best kind of feedback.  :)

I'm finishing up the final feature of 3.3 right now (I'm actually working with a partner site, so it's taking a little longer than usual).  But other than a few bug fixes, the beta is pretty much what's going to be in the final.

Seitz333

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Re: No Problems
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2014, 06:32:37 PM »
Good to hear, I have my year-end Tourney of Champions tourney on Saturday, I will download the beta and give it a go.

Chuck

Asegzamfire

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: No Problems
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2014, 11:07:26 PM »
I Would like to had that its the same for me, except for the little thing i found and already send you Corey, everything run perfectly fine. Cant wait to see the exporting/importing seating in action for big event with like 1400 players or so. So much time save, Thanks

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5429
    • View Profile
Re: No Problems
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2014, 11:02:17 AM »
Cant wait to see the exporting/importing seating in action for big event with like 1400 players or so. So much time save, Thanks

Please let us know how that goes.  Admittedly I have not tried it with that many players.  :)

Asegzamfire

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: No Problems
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2014, 04:06:31 PM »
Work perfectly fine, i did it on a 700-800 players tourney so far and it was great.

Next big event will be by the end of March or so, will have around 1600 players just for the first event, its pretty much the same thing, the only problem is the program is slowing down drastically as soon as you past 700 players. Which can bring some problem when you have like 20 players in less then 5min busting out as soon as the bubble break around 117 places paid for example. since its slow and we have to bust to make sure of the name and seat. We have a way to work around that problem. Like  having one computer running on simple mode for the 700+ tourney and we have another tournament with only the players who made the day 2 for example 213 players. So its fast and everything is good. Its just bring the problem to not have the tourney all in one, but its not a big deal, when we need the stats from the tournament i just have to go back and forth from the multi-day tournament. No big deal so far. its just the old problem to not be able to do multi-day on TD3. We are used to it right now and have a nice little set up that make everything run smooth. I'm also working another way of doing things here that will help me work better and faster with the export/import option. It will save us a lots of time even in regular tourney. I keep you in touch about it. In the mean time you have new idea that can help in this matter, as usual i will be happy to help you out.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5429
    • View Profile
Re: No Problems
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2014, 10:58:53 AM »
That's frustrating that the program tends to slow down, since I have still never seen this behavior.

Where exactly does it get slow?  Do updates to the main clock screen slow down, or are you talking about some specific dialogs, like perhaps the "bust-out" dialog?

I do actually have an idea for some of the slower player dialogs for those with large player databases: a "pure" search mode.  For example, the "Add Players" dialog would change in this mode to display nothing until search text is entered, and then it will only show items that match the search text, with a configurable maximum number of results to show.  Currently it's slow for large databases because the entire database of players is listed even when the search results show only a few players.  Changing this could potentially speed up those dialogs quite a bit, but I won't know until I actually try it.  And those dialogs have gotten pretty complex, so it could be a while before I get it right.

Asegzamfire

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: No Problems
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2014, 12:18:46 AM »
There is no problem for the clock if nothing is touch, it run perfecly fine, unless you do an action, then it simply freeze and as the action is resume the clock jump to the time it suppose to be. The program keep counting down so it jump to the right place. Still bad for the customer to see this. This is why we are using another computer to have it on simple mode, which have no problem at all with that much players.

Where is slow down:

1- When you load a tournament with already 700+ players in, it take a while to load, the more you have the longer it takes.
2- Changing from one Tab to another one, example Tables to Players. the more players you have in the tournament the slower it take to change.  changing the setting to see players on multiple page help but still slower then a tourney with 80 players.
3- When selecting an option on a players,  mostly anything that ask for a search...
4- When busting a player, this one is the worst at 700 it can take up to 3-4 sec, at 1600 it can go up as much as 12-15sec


Those are the point where it slow down that i can think of right now, since we dont use much more option in the program for this part of the tournament (day 2 or more). Also all others kind of option like exporting, printing or else works fines as usual.

Hope this help to pin-point the problem.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5429
    • View Profile
Re: No Problems
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2014, 12:56:44 PM »
Hmm.  Just a quick question: any chance that a tournament with 700 players, for example, actually has more players than that added to the tournament but not bought-in?

Asegzamfire

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: No Problems
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2014, 05:37:42 AM »
No, its slow enough with the amount of players we are not taking any reservation, only paid players are there. Like i already explain to you how we doing the registration, i only have the name who already buy in the tournament.  If it can help i have a Database around 5k players, its only the last 3months. Not sure if having that much can be a reason of this slow down.

Also not sure if it help too but the first time we notice that slow down and we decided to put one computer on simple mode. I simply open a copy of the tournament and change it to simple mode. I found out it was really slow to add new amound of players or busting one, even if its a simple click.  I went back to the track name, delete all the player then go back in simple mode and it was as fast as a brand you simple mode.

Stuart Murray

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
Re: No Problems
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2014, 08:33:13 AM »
Update from the weekend, ran a total of 3 tournaments simultaneously with 53, 115 & 70 players using the software and VNC service, had no issues from the program, and the casino were so impressed they are considering replacing CRM with TD3 by bringing me in on a consultancy role.

We couldn't enter the chipcounts for the final table, but to be honest that saved some time getting each FT up and running!
Stuart Murray

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5429
    • View Profile
Re: No Problems
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2014, 09:12:17 PM »
Quote
Update from the weekend, ran a total of 3 tournaments simultaneously with 53, 115 & 70 players using the software and VNC service, had no issues from the program, and the casino were so impressed they are considering replacing CRM with TD3 by bringing me in on a consultancy role.

Well, that's pretty fantastic.  :)

Quote
We couldn't enter the chipcounts for the final table, but to be honest that saved some time getting each FT up and running!

Was there a problem with the TD?

Stuart Murray

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
Re: No Problems
« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2014, 06:31:19 AM »
when you asked that question I thought you may have fixed the problem, I just checked again, you can enter the individual chip counts but the "set-all" and "clear-all" options create the attached error.

Stu
Stuart Murray

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5429
    • View Profile
Re: No Problems
« Reply #13 on: February 04, 2014, 10:12:34 PM »
Oh, right, sorry, yes I knew that.  Well, I should have known that.  http://www.thetournamentdirector.net/forums/index.php?topic=4779.0

Yes, it has been fixed, just not released yet.

Thank you for reporting it.  Sorry I didn't catch on quicker.