Author Topic: 3.2 beta 4  (Read 9030 times)

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5422
    • View Profile
3.2 beta 4
« on: March 29, 2013, 10:17:13 PM »
This is version 3.2 beta 4.  

Standard beta testing disclaimer:
This is a BETA release of the software.  Beta means I am not aware of any bugs, but I'd like to get some more testing done before an official release.

If you plan to participate in the beta test, backup your data first.  This can never be stated too often.  The TD can do this for you, just press the "Backup" button on the Database tab and check all options.  You should do this whether you try a beta version or not.

The user manual has still not been fully updated.  Below is the relevant part of the changes.txt file (changes since 3.2 beta 3).

Thank you again to everyone who will participate in this test release.  Please post or email any feedback you have.

Edit: Version 3.2 has been released, so this beta has now ended.  You can download version 3.2 from the main download page: http://www.thetournamentdirector.net/download.html



Version 3.2.b4 (beta release 4)
======================================================================
New Features:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
- Added Layout Scaling.  This allows the layout to be scaled to most screen sizes.
- On Transactions dialog, allow editing multiple transactions at once
- Rakes now enumerated on transaction editing dialogs
- Changed "Create receipt" button on transaction edit dialogs to only create a "virtual" receipt.
  Transactions with receipts now have "Print receipt" and "Create receipt file" buttons.
- Added Status columns to Add Players to Tournament and Buy-in Players dialogs
- Added Fade to Black and Fade to White screen transitions
- Updated Prizes tab to indicate when prizes have been overridden or adjusted (by *)
- Added rankings to "Tournaments" section of Stats Player dialog
- Allow viewing/editing player leagues from Stats Player dialog
- Added <bustsUntilFinalTable> layout token
- Added auto search to the Insert Token dialog
- Standardized all exports.  A common set of export tokens are now available on all exports.
- Added <gametype> and <gamename> export tokens to all exports (uses first level of rounds schedule)
- Added link to all export dialogs to view the export file in Windows Explorer.  This feature was already
  in the Backup dialog, but was changed so that the export file is selected when Windows Explorer opens.
- Added "bustsUntilMoney" and "bustsUntilFinalTable" formula/condition variables
- Added context menu options for profiles on the Game tab (set as default, enable/disable, rename, delete)
- Double-clicking a profile title on the Game tab should open the Manage Profiles dialog with the profile
  pre-selected
- Added a button to add a new rake on the Rakes section of the Preferences tab
- Added context menu options on Tables tab to seat an unseated player randomly at any table, and to seat
  an unseated player randomly at a specific table
- Allow the first two (default, read-only) Data Stores to be viewable
- Don't prompt for a label when making a seat unavailable; just use the last label entered
- Added preference to restrict adding of new salespeople at time of transaction
- Added table moves to the tournament history, and a preference for enabling/disabling
- Added preference for Strict searching.  When enabled, searches match all words entered.  When disabled,
  searches match any words entered.
- Added confirmation dialog when ESC key pressed on certain dialogs


----------------------------------------------------------------------
Bugs Fixed:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
- (3.0): Cursor down in a combo box causes the highlighting to blink
- (3.2.b1): Sometimes the combo box drop-down list doesn't have the proper focus
- (3.2.b3): Add-on/rebuy dialogs don't always pre-select the appropriate profile
- (3.2.b3): Inserting a new add-on or rebuy (Edit Game Player dialog), the profile and values should
  be the same as they are for a new add-on or rebuy
- (2.x): If the dealer button is set to a non-valid seat, a table balance can cause the application
  to lock-up
- (2.x): Deleting a seat from the context menu doesn't move the dealer button appropriately
- (2.x): Inserting a seat from the context menu doesn't move the dealer button appropriately
- (2.x): Editing a table removes the dealer button
- (3.x): When creating a new tournament (Game tab), if "Create a new tournament from scratch" is
  selected, the tournament is created using the file selected in the "Create a new tournament using
  the following saved tournament as a template" path (if nothing in the path, then the new tournament
  is actually was created from scratch)
- (2.x): Math rounding errors in some prize calculations
- (3.2.b1): On Transactions dialog, shift+click checks or unchecks all rows between the last clicked
  row, including those that are not currently visible
- (3.0): On undo receipts the bounty chip amount isn't negated
- (3.0): Undo receipts use the same receipt number and thus write over the existing receipt file
- (2.5.6): Deleting a repository in the Data Stores dialog can change the Active Data Store
  selection
- (3.0): When tournament is in progress, switching to Simple mode, then back to Track Players mode
  causes all player statuses to display "Game Over" until the Players tab is refreshed
- (3.2.b1): Restoring a backup is broken
- (3.2.b1): When a tournament is loaded all transactions are set to the default profile name
- (3.2.b1): Buy-in Rake dialog is titled "Rebuy Rake"
- (3.2.b1): Creating a receipt for an existing transaction doesn't updating the current salesperson
  if a new salesperson is added
- (2.x): Cursoring down in a ComboBox with no entries sets the value to "undefined".  Clicking the
  down arrow icon after doing this causes an error
- (3.2.b3): Auto-search on Transactions dialog trims search string, focuses on search input, and
  doesn't clear search text when Reset button pressed
- (3.2.b1): On Game tab, changing the rake value for buy-ins, rebuys, or add-ons doesn't read the
  new rake value before asking if the change should be applied to all existing buy-ins, rebuys, or
  add-ons
- (3.2.b1): Error on Import Sounds dialog (Events tab)
- (2.x): When importing sounds, if no sounds are found the OK button still attempts to validate
  the selection and complains since no items are checked
- (3.0): Selecting "Screen properties" from Game window context menu when no custom screens exist
  does nothing
- (3.2): Screen Properties dialog used incorrect values when dialog first opened (changes were
  persisted but next time the dialog was opened it didn't show new values)
« Last Edit: May 17, 2013, 10:04:14 PM by Corey Cooper »

Seitz333

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2013, 12:39:32 PM »
Thanks Corey! I just downloaded and I have a tourney on tuesday night I can test it with.

Chuck

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5422
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2013, 10:06:00 AM »
No news is good news, right?  I'm seeing some adoption and I have zero bug reports so far.  As soon as I finish up the user manual changes, I plan to release 3.2.

Stuart Murray

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2013, 01:03:32 PM »
Been using from launch without issue so far!

Stu
Stuart Murray

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5422
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2013, 10:55:03 AM »
Great to know.  Thanks, Stu!

efdenny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2013, 09:47:17 AM »
Ran a complete tournament last night on 3.2b4, also tried the import/export.  All is working smoothly!

tbankert

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2013, 11:50:30 PM »
So messing around with the html screen layout, one caveat is you can't reference css sheets or images with relative paths although once the main sheet is attached using file:///drive:/path/to/file/file.css you can reference images and imported style sheets using their relative path to the sheet.

Also what version of IE is TD using to render the HTML  it appears to either A be running in compatibility mode or using a much older version of IE to render the page.

Thanks
Terry

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5422
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2013, 10:17:43 AM »
Compatibility mode.  There's not much (if anything) that can be done about this.  Moving to standards mode is a goal, but from the research I've done, even if I migrate everything to standards mode, there's a bug (or shortcoming) in IE (when used in HTA mode, which is what the TD uses) that prevents child windows from using standards mode.  Kinda throws a wrench into the whole program.

HTML screens are referenced from a temp location, so relative paths would be rendered useless.  It is recommended that you use the <datastore> token on paths to effect a relative path.  For example, if you save your images in:

C:\Users\tbankert\The Tournament Director 2\Data\images

... then you should be able to reference images in your layout like so:

<img src="<datastore>/images/someImage.jpg">

tbankert

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2013, 10:54:16 AM »
I may be able to force it out of compatibility mode just to test it out will take a look when I get home this evening.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5422
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2013, 12:37:53 PM »
Good luck.  If you manage to get it out of compatibility mode, please share how you did it.  :)

tbankert

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2013, 02:21:43 PM »
quick question are you wrapping the html content into an already existing page?
eg
<html>
<head>
</head>
<body>
My Inserted File
</body>
</html>



or are you just rendering whatever is in the file?

Can you try adding something like this to  your hta setup
<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge" />
« Last Edit: May 01, 2013, 03:00:34 PM by tbankert »

tbankert

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2013, 03:21:51 PM »
I seem to be getting my layout to render somewhat in html5, still not supporting border-radius for whatever reason.  Oddly enough if I just save the html file with a .hta extension it displays properly.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2013, 03:50:12 PM by tbankert »

tbankert

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #12 on: May 01, 2013, 04:13:25 PM »
Compatibility mode.  There's not much (if anything) that can be done about this.  Moving to standards mode is a goal, but from the research I've done, even if I migrate everything to standards mode, there's a bug (or shortcoming) in IE (when used in HTA mode, which is what the TD uses) that prevents child windows from using standards mode.  Kinda throws a wrench into the whole program.

HTML screens are referenced from a temp location, so relative paths would be rendered useless.  It is recommended that you use the <datastore> token on paths to effect a relative path.  For example, if you save your images in:

C:\Users\tbankert\The Tournament Director 2\Data\images

... then you should be able to reference images in your layout like so:

<img src="<datastore>/images/someImage.jpg">

Also from what I've read IE-9 and above will render child frames / iframes in standards mode.  It won't however deal with modals and other html 5 windowed elements very well rendering them in ie 8.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5422
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #13 on: May 01, 2013, 04:23:44 PM »
quick question are you wrapping the html content into an already existing page?
eg
<html>
<head>
</head>
<body>
My Inserted File
</body>
</html>



or are you just rendering whatever is in the file?

Can you try adding something like this to  your hta setup
<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge" />


It's rendered in an iframe.

I can't include the meta tag in the TD application because it will affect the entire app, and that's going to require a lot of change to make it work (trust me, I've already gone down that path).  The app doesn't work at all in standards mode.  It will need a lot of work.

I seem to be getting my layout to render somewhat in html5, still not supporting border-radius for whatever reason.  Oddly enough if I just save the html file with a .hta extension it displays properly.

The filename you choose should have no effect, since the file is loaded by the application and then saved to a temporary file (after doing token replacement) with the filename extension .html.

Also from what I've read IE-9 and above will render child frames / iframes in standards mode.  It won't however deal with modals and other html 5 windowed elements very well rendering them in ie 8

Honestly I can't remember exactly what won't work right, but the TD uses a lot of modal dialogs (the entire Settings window is a modal dialog), so that presents an issue.  I could see moving to standards mode even if modals remained in compatibility mode just so the layout could utilize HTML 5 (and I may yet end up doing that), but that still presents some other issues that will have to be dealt with.

tbankert

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: 3.2 beta 4
« Reply #14 on: May 01, 2013, 05:45:35 PM »
aware that the file name chosen has no effect on the rendered output in td was simply stating that it rendered correctly with the standalone hta processor.