Author Topic: Im trying to run a Doubles tournament.  (Read 1449 times)

CigarDan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Im trying to run a Doubles tournament.
« on: February 11, 2012, 06:55:17 AM »
I run a small league and we were thinking about doing a doubles tourney, many of us that play are couples and the non-couples can easily find a partner.
I have run into a few small problems, such as rankings, seating, points etc.

1. I tried running a sim game, 12 players (6 teams) with the idea that once the head-up was completed that I would simply use the chop function to split points/cash the way I wanted and to award 1st place to both winners and 2nd to both runners-up. When using the chop function, I found that if I awarded two 1st places, the next place I could award was third. My players are very funny about their stats and don't want to see a third place where a second should be.

During the typing of this I solved most of my problems so now number 1 is my only concern.

It would seem that if I run two SEPARATE games (one with the first half of each team, one with the second) I could get the same end results for the stats (i.e. proper 1st,2nd,3rd etc) but is there any way to avoid this? Is there something in the chop panel I am missing or a setting in the preferences I do not know about?

Magic_fubu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1035
    • View Profile
Re: Im trying to run a Doubles tournament.
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2012, 12:11:46 PM »
No, you're not really missing anything... TD is set for the traditional 1 person per buy in. What you could do, is to create a new data base player, where the "first name" is the first player, and the last name is the 2nd, but, it would not track individual stats. To keep everyone with their own stats properly configured, you would (as far as I know) need to do it as you listed, and do two seperate games.
My cowboys shot down your rockets
---
If you send a request to me please send that you got me from here w/your TD name to confirm. Thanks!

TIMMER

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 555
    • View Profile
Re: Im trying to run a Doubles tournament.
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2012, 02:12:42 PM »
If you do it on the Prize tab, you should be able override to 1st & 1st, Money,Points,etc, 

CigarDan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Im trying to run a Doubles tournament.
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2012, 03:38:42 PM »
If you do it on the Prize tab, you should be able override to 1st & 1st, Money,Points,etc, 
Thanks, I'm gonna give it a try.

TIMMER

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 555
    • View Profile
Re: Im trying to run a Doubles tournament.
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2012, 06:27:56 AM »
Then again maybe not,

CigarDan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Im trying to run a Doubles tournament.
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2012, 08:22:56 AM »
Manually awarding the prizes seemed to work in my test run, thanks. Gotta check the overall stat database to be 100% sure, but I don't see why it wouldn't work.

Johno

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
    • The Poker Leaderbaord
Re: Im trying to run a Doubles tournament.
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2012, 10:31:20 PM »
We manually move players into a "Chop" position after the tournament ends.

So team 1 "Chop" 1st prize, team 2 chop for 3rd place, etc etc..

Works for us as it also awards the points according to the formula.
My League Website - Joomla Component for TD. Now available for Joomla 1.5, 1.7 & 2.5

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5379
    • View Profile
Re: Im trying to run a Doubles tournament.
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2012, 11:44:25 AM »
Quote
When using the chop function, I found that if I awarded two 1st places, the next place I could award was third. My players are very funny about their stats and don't want to see a third place where a second should be.

Hate to say it, but if you bust out and 2 players are still left in the tournament, you got 3rd place.  It doesn't matter how the tournament ultimately ends up - whether one of those two players busts out and there is a clear 1st and 2nd place, or they decide to evenly chop and both take "1st" place - you still got 3rd place because two people lasted longer than you.

Johno

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
    • The Poker Leaderbaord
Re: Im trying to run a Doubles tournament.
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2012, 12:25:09 AM »
That's how it should be too Corey.

In any form of racing, if there is a tie for first place, the next place is always third ;-)
My League Website - Joomla Component for TD. Now available for Joomla 1.5, 1.7 & 2.5

caeles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Im trying to run a Doubles tournament.
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2012, 10:21:03 AM »
I agree, though a work-around for CigarDan could be:

Make a formula where the team that 'should have been #2, but got #3' gets the points for #2, and soforth. It is a workaround, but TD isn't built for the strange variations we come up with in tournament-play ;)