Author Topic: Abbreviating The Blinds on the layout screen  (Read 1022 times)

Mahound

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • THE ONLY time i get screwed is when i play poker!
    • View Profile
Abbreviating The Blinds on the layout screen
« on: January 13, 2012, 09:10:16 AM »
Just ran  mock tournament.

In the preferences tab I have ticked the box so that the blinds should be abbreviated
for example 20,000  should show as 20K
However it is still showing the blinds in an unabbreviated form. i.e 20,000

I have designated the smallest chip as 25
I have designated K as the abbreviation for thousands
I have designated M as the abbreviation for Millions
and I have designated B as the abbreviation for Billions

This is not just on the 20,000. It is on all the thousands. Have i done every thing right? Am i missing anything?


TD V 3.0 -  up to patch 13
« Last Edit: January 13, 2012, 09:13:23 AM by Mahound »

Magic_fubu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1035
    • View Profile
Re: Abbreviating The Blinds on the layout screen
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2012, 10:20:12 AM »
I personally don't have any issue on this... I have done all you have, with one exception. My smallest chip i set to 1,000.
My cowboys shot down your rockets
---
If you send a request to me please send that you got me from here w/your TD name to confirm. Thanks!

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5381
    • View Profile
Re: Abbreviating The Blinds on the layout screen
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2012, 10:55:29 AM »
However it is still showing the blinds in an unabbreviated form. i.e 20,000

Where?

Mahound

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • THE ONLY time i get screwed is when i play poker!
    • View Profile
Re: Abbreviating The Blinds on the layout screen
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2012, 03:34:31 PM »
Its showing the unabbreviated blinds on the main tournament Screen
i.e.  Current Blinds: 10,000 - 20,000.

what i want it to display is " 10K - 20K"

Surely it shouldn't make any difference if the smallest chip is set to 25?

I only noticed this because when the blinds get that big, it alters the cell and shows the  blinds like this
"10,000 -
20,000"
On another point is that nowhere are the numbers abbreviated, they are the same on the rounds screen. Alsothe antes on the main tournament screen are also not abbreviated

 I know that i could do this in the previous version 2.12

« Last Edit: January 13, 2012, 03:39:47 PM by Mahound »

Mahound

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • THE ONLY time i get screwed is when i play poker!
    • View Profile
Re: Abbreviating The Blinds on the layout screen
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2012, 03:52:29 PM »
Surely it shouldn't make any difference if the smallest chip is set to 25?

Apparently this does make a difference.
I opened the TD. went to the preferences screen, ticked all the boxes as before, but this time i made the smallest chip 1000. Then i Loaded my tournament and the layout that goes with it and this time the numbers in the blinds cell were abbreviated i.e. they read "Blinds 10k - 40k"

strange!!!

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5381
    • View Profile
Re: Abbreviating The Blinds on the layout screen
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2012, 04:11:28 PM »
Strange, indeed.  That preference (Minimum chip value) is supposed to represent the smallest chip value that you want to be abbreviated.  It makes sense to set it to 1,000, since this is 1K, the smallest amount that will still be greater than (or equal to) 1 when abbreviated, but you could set it to say, 500, and get .5K, if that's what you wanted.

But for some reason, the abbreviation code is skipped if this value is less than 1000.  I have no idea why I would have put that in there.  At first I thought it was supposed be if the chip value we're abbreviating is less than 1000, then skip it, which sort of makes sense, unless you want .5K as I described above.  So now I'm wondering if maybe it was there as a debugging step I forgot to remove.   ???

So, for the moment just leave it at 1000.  Values less than 1000 won't be abbreviated.  I don't think you want to abbreviate your $25 chips, anyway, do you?  It would abbreviate to $0.025K.

Edit: actually, it would abbreviate to $0, because it only displays to a single decimal place, which would be $0.0, and that is then converted to simply $0
« Last Edit: January 13, 2012, 04:15:57 PM by Corey Cooper »