Author Topic: Tournament reset button  (Read 811 times)

Trash Monkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Tournament reset button
« on: December 11, 2011, 12:28:22 AM »
So apparently the reset button in version 3 doesn't clear your "auto-save" setting like it did in version 2. I accidentally wrote over last nights tournament with a reset fresh copy of no data! Anyway to recover that data?

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: Tournament reset button
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2011, 11:56:15 AM »
You could try...if you are on W7, right click on the tournament file and select Properties. Next let's select the 'Previous Versions' tab. If you have Previous Versions enabled and you're lucky enough, windows would have made a backup of the file between when you played it and when you overwrote it. Windows will list versions that it has backed up. Select the one that falls within the date range you need then click Restore. If you are on XP, you could try System Restore.
Here's a great idea I learned from Leo Laporte...I created an email account with Hotmail and used this as my backup. I e-mailed a copy of the tournament at the end of the day to the email address (actually, I emailed the entire saves folder). This is the same thing as W7's Previous Versions. If you do manage to retrieve your tournament I would suggest using the hotmail (or gmail or any other free email provider) to use for backups. This has the added benefits of 'off-site backups'. Backing up on a USB key or portable drive is a decent (not great) idea because drives fail and USB keys have a limited number of writes you can do (usually well into the high millions which I haven't heard anybody reach) but in order to access this back-up you need the key/drive with you. By using an emai account, you can access your saves anywhere you have an internet connection and by using email you create 2 backups at the same time, 1 in the inbox of your new account and the other is in the Sent folder of the email account you used.
Good luck
Jody
www.jodystacey.com/TD

Trash Monkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Tournament reset button
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2011, 05:49:24 PM »
Jody, That email idea is a great option. I'm going to implement it! I am running win7 so I'll give the previous versions step a try and see if it helps. I was able to upload to statsgenie before I overwrote it so I have a history of what happened should I need to manually recreate the game. I just hope I don't have to take the time to do so.

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5379
    • View Profile
Re: Tournament reset button
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2011, 12:02:50 PM »
The only other solution would be if you have the "Make backups when saving tournaments" preference enabled.  When this preference is enabled, the software doesn't write over existing tournament files, but instead renames the existing tournament file first, appending a timestamp to the name, and then saves.  You'll end up with a lot of files at the end of the night, but they're relatively small and with today's hard drives they wouldn't begin to make a dent in your disk space.  Once the tournament is over and you're satisfied the saved file is sufficient, you can delete all of the backup files.  Unfortunately it won't help if you didn't enable it.

Thanks for pointing out the change in the Reset button behavior.  Sorry it had to be discovered in this way.  I'll change the behavior back and add a warning dialog for times when resetting the tournament will disable Auto-save.

Trash Monkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Tournament reset button
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2011, 11:10:09 PM »
That's a good idea too Corey. I saw that option and was thinking that would be a good "safety" but not knowing how much space it would require etc... I'll enable it next game and see how it plays out.

Thank you for addressing the reset button/auto save behavior as well.