Author Topic: iPhone as a remote  (Read 4858 times)

RiverRatPokerLeague

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
iPhone as a remote
« on: December 03, 2011, 10:29:57 PM »
What is the best app to turn my iPhone into a remote. I purchased the Hippo remote app and it works great on my computer till I open my Tournament Director then it doesn't work. I've heard the "realvnc" app is the one I want but I don't wanna waste more money.
Thanks in advance for your advice
Jess Geesey
RiverRat poker league

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2011, 12:04:42 AM »
install Tight VNC on your computer (free app, i prefer this than RDP) and install Mocha Lite on your iPhone, also free. enter ip address (or name of computer) into Mocha and have a blast! i use it when i play and don't want to get up and walk the 10 feet to my computer and show others how many beers I drank by not being able to walk straight...
Jody
www.jodystacey.com/TD
« Last Edit: December 04, 2011, 12:06:26 AM by jodybingo »

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2011, 12:05:36 AM »
If you have access to an iPad, use this instead. The small screen of the iPhone can be a pain

RiverRatPokerLeague

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2011, 11:34:51 AM »
I installed both Jody but it wont connect. obv I'm very computer friendly lol  Do I need to change my firewall settings or something?

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2011, 11:36:55 AM »
Your firewall should grant access to port 5900 and your iPhone MUST be connected to your network (Wifi...router)

RiverRatPokerLeague

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2011, 11:43:34 AM »
It keeps saying "Cannit find NETBIOS name BBY-PC on local net. please try again" BBY-PC is the name of my laptop and yes I have bothe devices connected to the same wifi connection

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2011, 01:33:33 PM »
try using the IP address instead of computer name

RiverRatPokerLeague

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2011, 02:22:10 PM »
Thanks Jody for all your help.  I'm not sure what happened but it connected now and is working excellent!  You are absolutely correct though, I need a IPad! Lol
« Last Edit: December 05, 2011, 12:16:53 AM by RiverRatPokerLeague »

JimG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2011, 09:36:27 AM »
Great Idea... Have some questions...

1.  Does anyone know of an app for this that will run on an Android tablet?
2. I assume the app/software for the PC runs on Windows???

Thanks in advance

Gordon260871

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2011, 04:09:31 PM »
The VNC apps mentioned above are also available for android i use this on my galaxy tab  or i use my iphone both are set up the same i use VNC for pc  and VNC VIEWER for both tab or iphone but you have to pay 5-99 for the app you can get VNC for the PC

Wick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2011, 08:33:30 PM »
Hoping you guys can help, I have DL both Mocha Lite and android-vnc-viewer to my phone (Driod X). I can connect to my PC with both but cant get any of the "keys" to work. I hit "x" to bust out a player and nothing. I have tried using other keys F1 and such as well as mouse clicks, no luck.

These are both the free versions by the way.

Any ideas, I realy want to get this to work.

Wick

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2012, 12:02:00 PM »
Mocha Lite has a small icon on the bottom of the screen that resembles (not by much) a keyboard. Click on this then your iPhone/iPad keyboard will come up. Click n your X to bust out. I can't speak for Android VNC but Real VNC also has the same option for a keyboard so I will guess that Android VNC also has the ability to brong up a keyboard
jody
www.jodystacey.com

Wick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2012, 03:08:06 PM »
I can get the keyboard to come up on both apps, it just doesnt work. What I mean is I can hit the x, and it looks like it is registering on the phone, but nothing happens on the PC.
  :-\

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2012, 03:12:48 PM »
Make sure your hotkeys are programmed properly in TD. Check in the Preferences> Behavior that Allow Hotkeys on all screens without text field is checked as well

Wick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: iPhone as a remote
« Reply #14 on: January 01, 2012, 04:51:40 PM »
well shit, the keyboard works when i am not in TD, but not when i have TD running. :(