Author Topic: Display Current Template  (Read 690 times)

ZeroTime

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Display Current Template
« on: December 08, 2011, 09:43:23 AM »
Hi....
A suggestion for you..
When saving templates (layout / events / prizes etc) it would be nice to have a "Save" button that just saves the current template and another button "Save As" so that you can save as a new template.
It does get a little confusing when you click "Save" and you are asked what you want to save it as. You can either name it and have a new one, which means that after a while you have loads of them and can't remember which is which, or you can overwrite the original. The problem with overwriting the original is that you can't always remember which template you have open.
An quick answer to the problem would be to have the open template name displayed on the screen.
This means that you can choose to save as another template if you wish or you can overwrite the original (update it in effect) confident that you are overwriting the correct one.

What do you think?

Regards

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5420
    • View Profile
Re: Display Current Template
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2011, 11:24:58 AM »
I realize there is some confusion on this point, but it isn't without reason.  Because templates are just a way to load/save a portion of a tournament, this has always been a little awkward.  To work around this, if you've loaded a template and then press the "Save Template" button, the "Save As..." dialog will default to the same filename.  So, at any time if you want to know what template you're "working with" (which is slightly misleading, too, since you're really just working with a portion of a tournament), you can press the "Save Template" button and see (you don't have to actually save the template).

There are several design issues that have to worked around when deciding how to deal with templates.  For example, if using a Rounds template, for example, should the actual level configuration be saved with the tournament, or should it just be a "reference" to the template?  Or, what happens if you've loaded a prizes template, a rounds template, and an events template, made changes, and then decide to load a tournament?  Does the software prompt you to save each one in turn before allowing you to load a tournament?  (Pretty annoying.)

I am interested in revisiting this, though.  I'm going to look into it a bit more.