Author Topic: Will my current tournament saves be ok?  (Read 1063 times)

Asphyxiates

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Will my current tournament saves be ok?
« on: November 13, 2011, 04:13:10 PM »
I am currently running version 2.5.12 and want to know if I download the new version will my current tournaments still be accessable? We are 10 months into a season and dont want to lose anything or mess anything up :(

Seitz333

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: Will my current tournament saves be ok?
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2011, 06:28:50 PM »
All of my previous tourneys open and save just fine.

Chuck

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: Will my current tournament saves be ok?
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2011, 08:21:54 PM »
Version 3 should be able to load any previously saved tournament.  All the way back to version 1.0.

But as a reminder, perform a backup before you upgrade!  Always!  It takes seconds to do.

http://www.thetournamentdirector.net/faq.html#faq32

Asphyxiates

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Will my current tournament saves be ok?
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2011, 03:02:57 PM »
Will the new version ask me for a license key? I know I deleted that email a while ago!

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: Will my current tournament saves be ok?
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2011, 03:04:50 PM »
Read the big red box on the Download page: http://www.thetournamentdirector.net/download.html

It will ask you for a license, of course.  And this version requires a new license.  But it will allow you a 30-day evaluation, just as the previous versions did (even if you've already had version 2 for more than 30 days; it's a new evaluation period).

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: Will my current tournament saves be ok?
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2011, 04:02:31 PM »
Corey, after installing successfully TD3 I was afraid to remove TD2 fearing that it may remove elements of TD3 necessary for operation. I had nothing to lose (everything is backed-up properly) however I was nervous. After removing TD2 it was obvious that nothing from TD3 had been touched.
Could you make a note on the download page (or somewhere in the main site) that removal of TD2 will not affect in any way any files used by TD3 (including activation, data stores etc.)?

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: Will my current tournament saves be ok?
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2011, 05:32:22 PM »
Good idea.  I'll do that now.