Author Topic: Own Screens  (Read 1861 times)

Mahound

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • THE ONLY time i get screwed is when i play poker!
    • View Profile
Own Screens
« on: May 24, 2011, 07:19:09 AM »
When you make your own screens, they are assigned to a number.
Is there away of assigning a screen  to a specific number?

Magic_fubu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1035
    • View Profile
Re: Own Screens
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2011, 08:32:24 AM »
Unless it changed for 2.6.b5, I was told that it alphabetizes the screens only. I'm definitely a proponent for being able to assign a specific number to a screen
My cowboys shot down your rockets
---
If you send a request to me please send that you got me from here w/your TD name to confirm. Thanks!

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5381
    • View Profile
Re: Own Screens
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2011, 10:17:06 AM »
The screens are listed in alphabetical order.  You'll have to name them appropriately to get them to be in the order you want.  I don't want to add a feature to allow them to be ordered because I don't want that to be confusing to anyone.  Their order, as listed on the Layout tab, is completely inconsequential to the program, but if you can order them, it will lead to people thinking this will control the order they are displayed.

You can always assign a hotkey to display any particular screen.  By default, the "1" key is assigned to the first screen, the "2" key is assigned to the second screen, etc, but you can change that on the Hotkeys tab.

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: Own Screens
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2011, 02:18:53 PM »
i assign names with numbers to my screens.
1 - pre
2- main
3- break
4- stats

this keeps em in the order i want

Mahound

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • THE ONLY time i get screwed is when i play poker!
    • View Profile
Re: Own Screens
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2011, 04:21:17 AM »
i assign names with numbers to my screens.
1 - pre
2- main
3- break
4- stats

this keeps em in the order i want

cheers

dedam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Own Screens
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2011, 12:58:21 PM »
Small word of advice, use high intervals between the numbers and you can always insert screens in the future without renumbering all screens.

So:

10 - pre
20 - main
30 - break
40 - stats

That way if you need to insert a new one between pre and main you simply number it 15 and you still have room for the future (not that I'm advising to put in lots of screens :D)

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: Own Screens
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2011, 09:55:41 PM »
Your advice does make sense, however my most extensive layout had 7 screens and I don't know if anyone has ever gone over 10.
But yes...leaving intervals does have logic behind it