Author Topic: connecting the TD to a mobile phone  (Read 5006 times)

Linker_Split

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: connecting the TD to a mobile phone
« Reply #15 on: July 08, 2011, 08:51:21 AM »
for those who have a Symbian 5.0 OS based smartphone, they can use SmartTouch, I've just downloaded and it works on a PC to phone connection

Linker_Split

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: connecting the TD to a mobile phone
« Reply #16 on: July 08, 2011, 05:27:14 PM »
Ok guys I've compiuled the Jar file, but it's not working on Symbian s60. that's a shame... now I'm gonna try smart touch and will let you know

Linker_Split

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: connecting the TD to a mobile phone
« Reply #17 on: July 09, 2011, 11:07:46 AM »
I've just tryied all the day this software (Smart Touch).
It needs a bluetooth connection with the PC... it doesn't work on a LAN connection or an internet conection... :/
Ok I'm gonna find other apps for Symbian... I hope to find one...

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 658
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: connecting the TD to a mobile phone
« Reply #18 on: July 09, 2011, 12:08:09 PM »
If you are using an internet connection, your smartphone must be hooked to the internet as well. Then any firewalls (router) must be configured (port forwarding).
Without internet, you need a wireless connection. If your machine has a wireless card, set up an AD-HOC connection and your smartphone can hook up directly to this connection and then remotely control your machine.
INTERNET IS NOT REQUIRED IF THERE IS A WIRELESS SIGNAL.

GreenTurtle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: connecting the TD to a mobile phone
« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2011, 03:50:45 PM »
Installed TightVNC (www.tightvnc.com) on the host, android-vnc-viewer (https://market.android.com/details?id=android.androidVNC&feature=search_result) on my X10 mini, using a wireless router without internet connection connected to the host. Works perfectly :) No more running around to bust people out (which means I can concentrate on playing my cards instead).
Thanks for the tips and info. Much appreciated. Now I just have to buy a cheap 7" Android-tablet  ::) Any suggestions?
« Last Edit: July 09, 2011, 03:55:21 PM by GreenTurtle »

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 658
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: connecting the TD to a mobile phone
« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2011, 04:07:22 PM »
Glad to be of help. As for cheap tablets...I cant help you there.

Linker_Split

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: connecting the TD to a mobile phone
« Reply #21 on: July 16, 2011, 07:06:23 PM »
Ok guys, problem is still here.
Well, not the same problem of the starting thread:
I can't connect my Nokia 5800 XM to my Windows7 Toshiba Satellite pro.
I've created an ad/hoc connection but when trying to connect from my phone it says that login is failed and a ! appears on the PC.

Really really dunno what to do.
I'm using the internal PC wireless, no third party addons.
 :-[

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 658
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: connecting the TD to a mobile phone
« Reply #22 on: July 16, 2011, 09:41:43 PM »
check any firewalls (make sure the port is opened i believe it is port 5900), check your VNC app and find out if it requires a password to connect as well...

Linker_Split

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: connecting the TD to a mobile phone
« Reply #23 on: July 17, 2011, 07:45:06 AM »
jodybingo thanks for the reply.
I believe the problem is the creation of an ad hoc connection.
When I create it, my phone (nokia 5800XM with Symbian OS) finds it but when connecting, a appears on the bottom of my PC
So I think problem is on connection creation.
I've disabled firewall but nothing happens

dniezby

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: connecting the TD to a mobile phone
« Reply #24 on: August 13, 2011, 08:47:09 PM »
So wait...If I understand what this topic is talking about...I can manage the software from my iPad or iPhone? Is that right?

Do you have an actual step by step to setting this up?

Also would it be possible for players to view the screens on their iPhones using this method?