Author Topic: Using multiple computers  (Read 1475 times)

FRatlanta

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Using multiple computers
« on: October 25, 2010, 10:47:47 AM »
A friend of mine and I both use TD for hosting our poker league.  We have two different computers running TD at 2 different houses, and we'd like to start using the stats and such to keep track of everything.

Is there a way to keep our databases the same?

And is there a way to export/import the completed games so we can keep track of the points/stats?  Like, after he finishes a game, is there a way he can send me the file from his completed game so that I can import it, and have accurate stats from his and my games?

The program is great!  Thanks!

-Daniel

Magic_fubu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1035
    • View Profile
Re: Using multiple computers
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2010, 11:42:13 AM »
Daniel - There's no way to keep both databases in sync in the strict case of syncing, but if you go to the players database, export the players to a flash drive, you can then import them on the other computer, and vice versa. With the tournaments, I believe on the game tab you can export it, but you don't even need to do that - if you save it, it becomes a normal file. So you can put that on your flash drive as well, and then save it to the same spot on the other computer (<Data Store>\saves  i believe is the path, where data store is the path to where TD files are saved).

Hope this helps!
Mike
My cowboys shot down your rockets
---
If you send a request to me please send that you got me from here w/your TD name to confirm. Thanks!

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5424
    • View Profile
Re: Using multiple computers
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2010, 01:08:56 PM »
Simply copy the saved tournament file and use the "Add all to DB" button on the Players tab.  As Magic_fubu mentioned, there's no real "sync", but this solves part of the issue.

Example: Tournament is run on computer A.  After the tournament is run and saved, copy the saved tournament file to computer B.  In the TD, load the tournament and go to the Players tab.  Press "Add all to DB".  This will add every player to the database on computer B.  Now you have the "same" players (as far as the software is concerned) on each PC.

Repeat this every time you run a tournament.  This will make sure any new players get added properly to the "other" PC.  If you add players to the database on computer B but don't run a tournament, you can still use this method to "sync" by simply creating a new tournament, adding the appropriate players (or, just add ALL players from the database), and then continue with the steps above.  A tournament does not have to be finished, or even started, to use this method.

Note that this won't get player details in sync.  So if you change the email address of a player on computer A, those details won't get "synced" to computer B.  But this will allow you to run stats on either computer and see the same results.

FRatlanta

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Using multiple computers
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2010, 01:57:36 PM »
Mike, thanks man.

So if my friend saves his tournament when he's done, he can send it over to me and I can drop it into the same folder as my saves... and the stats will be able to be pulled up on my computer?  Therefore his Monday night game and my Tuesday night game are both on my computer and I can then export stat files for the players?

FRatlanta

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Using multiple computers
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2010, 02:34:00 PM »
So my friend created a fake tournament night to test this.  This is what I'm seeing so far...

I was able to add the players to my database, however, I'm now seeing duplicates, as we share the same players.

And even though my filter contains the game he created and is loaded, I'm not seeing the stats from his game.

So, is there a way to merge two players in my database?  And will it do this each time?  I noticed some players were listed in red.  Does this mean they're already in my database?  And what do I need to do to get the stats to show?

Thanks guys.  You're all awesome.

Magic_fubu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1035
    • View Profile
Re: Using multiple computers
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2010, 09:17:03 PM »
IF you have a tournament loaded when you run pull up the players tab, those in red show those who have bought in versus those who have not. I believe (although cannot confirm) that you should be able to merge the two duplicates IF you do NOT have a tournament loaded.  In not seeing the stats, I recommend setting up a season, where the tournament scoring is set the same as your points for playing (if you need help with this, please reply, we're all more than willing to help :) ), and for overall scoring, odds are you're going to want either   sum(scores)     or   top(x, scores)      where x would be a number from 1 up to the number of tournaments run overall. 
My cowboys shot down your rockets
---
If you send a request to me please send that you got me from here w/your TD name to confirm. Thanks!

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5424
    • View Profile
Re: Using multiple computers
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2010, 11:01:28 AM »
If you're seeing duplicates, it is probably because you both added the same player to your databases manually (not using the method I described).  Internally, a player is identified by a unique identifier, and NOT their name.  So if you add a player "Corey" to your database and I add a player "Corey" to my database, they are NOT the same player.  If I then add Corey to a tournament, save it, send it to you, and you load it and use the "Add All to DB" feature, player "Corey" from my tournament will be added to your database.  It will NOT be the same "Corey" that is already in your database, and thus you'll have 2.

Players listed in red on the Database are players who are also in the current tournament.  So, if you've done the above and notice there are two Corey's in your database, but one is in red, you should probably delete the one NOT in red.  That would leave the Corey that is the same in the both databases.

Use the Info button on the Stats tab to see which tournaments are loaded, complete, and filtered.  If all looks good there but you still don't see players, double-click one of the tournaments (on the Info dialog) and look at how many players versus how many database players are in the tournament.  If you see fewer database players (especially if you see zero), then the issue is you don't have the correct players in your database and you need to revisit the above steps.

pokerbuddy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Using multiple computers
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2010, 12:02:11 AM »
I think there is a much, much better way to do it. Use DropBox. Save your tournament (file) in TD to the DropBox folder. Then it will be sync'd automagically. (Works like one file accessed on a network drive.)

When a tournament is run at location A or B, it will automatically load the updated file/tournament. No copying files back and forth.

Slick, huh? I'm not sure but I think it is still free up to a certain storage limit.



You will always have an updated copy on each computer when they connect to the internet. So, you also have a back up (actually, one copy will be found on computer A and one on computer B, and yet another on DropBox).





FRatlanta

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Using multiple computers
« Reply #8 on: January 02, 2011, 05:14:28 PM »
@ pokerbuddy, dude that sounds awesome.  I will try that one day.  Unfortunately, one guy does not have internet access on his laptop, so we can't use it.

@ corey, we figured out a decent system.  I send him a database file every few weeks and he replaces it on his computer.  He emails me his saved tournament files when he's done, I load them into me TD, merge and add to database (if i need to), and then save the file to my computer.  This keeps the stats perfect.  There's a little frustration having to email files around, but as long as we use my computer as the central database builder and stat builder, we're doing just fine.

Thanks guys!