Author Topic: Re-buying & Player Chips  (Read 2685 times)

Viper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re-buying & Player Chips
« on: November 27, 2010, 02:07:37 PM »
Corey,

Ok we can limit re-buys by the rounds but how about having a limit in the amount of chips someone can have in relationship to purchasing a re-buy. Some of my games I do have people who want to play thats on a budget in terms to what they can spend. To put a stop on someone who has doubled up his or her chips just before the Add-on I would like to limit the re-buys to those that have less than 3000 chips in order to purchase a re-buy. This keeps players that have huge stacks of chips from purchasing a re-buy just to add chips their stack heading towards the later rounds. Yes this great for the pot but it has pissed off some players that do not have the funds to buy buy a re-buy and a add-on.

As of right now I limit all players to 1 rebuy and 1 add-on provided the player wanting to purchase a re-buy has 3000 chips or less.


Magic_fubu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1035
    • View Profile
Re: Re-buying & Player Chips
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2010, 06:16:56 PM »
Viper, I don't think that TD would be able to do so, as TD isn't able to track chip counts for players in real time. You would have to edit the chip stack a player has and then attempt the rebuy, but if you know the threshold and the player is above it, it wouldn't be practical. I agree, it would be nice to allow TD to do it, but again, it's nearly impossible to track player's chip counts on a constant basis.
My cowboys shot down your rockets
---
If you send a request to me please send that you got me from here w/your TD name to confirm. Thanks!

Viper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Re-buying & Player Chips
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2010, 08:30:40 PM »
Viper, I don't think that TD would be able to do so, as TD isn't able to track chip counts for players in real time. You would have to edit the chip stack a player has and then attempt the rebuy, but if you know the threshold and the player is above it, it wouldn't be practical. I agree, it would be nice to allow TD to do it, but again, it's nearly impossible to track player's chip counts on a constant basis.

All that is needed is the ability to have a drop down box or a box that you type in that is connected to the rebuys. When selecting a re-buy you place the amount in which a re-buy would be allowed, in this case $3,000.00 or less. Then when the player request a re-buy the host would count his or her chips to make sure the player is $3,000.00 or less and then software would give you an option to grant the reguest. I understand the software can't track players chips, but with some input by the cardroom this would work.

« Last Edit: November 28, 2010, 07:40:28 PM by Viper »

Magic_fubu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1035
    • View Profile
Re: Re-buying & Player Chips
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2010, 11:00:10 AM »
Ahh, I see where you're going with it :) I think that would be a nice addition
My cowboys shot down your rockets
---
If you send a request to me please send that you got me from here w/your TD name to confirm. Thanks!

TIMMER

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
    • View Profile
Re: Re-buying & Player Chips
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2010, 02:29:05 PM »
there is a button for addons ( tdbuttons ) when you click it gives you the option to set chip amount for a addon,  New cell. call it addon put this inside html  <tdbutton type="addon" text="Add On" inheritFont="true" link="true" count="1">    The link="true" is to make the button transparent  just put  "false"  and you will see the button  And you can put the cell anywhere,  the buttons  they are in the ( Tokens ) scroll to you see tdbuttons then click it
« Last Edit: November 28, 2010, 04:26:19 PM by TIMMER »

Viper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Re-buying & Player Chips
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2010, 07:40:05 PM »
there is a button for addons ( tdbuttons ) when you click it gives you the option to set chip amount for a addon,  New cell. call it addon put this inside html  <tdbutton type="addon" text="Add On" inheritFont="true" link="true" count="1">    The link="true" is to make the button transparent  just put  "false"  and you will see the button  And you can put the cell anywhere,  the buttons  they are in the ( Tokens ) scroll to you see tdbuttons then click it

The add-on is not the issue because everyone has the option to purchase the add-on. I want to limit when a re-buy can be purchased. I have sat at tounaments at casinos and you can not purchase a rebuy until you have a set amount of chips of which is usually 1000 or less with the buy-in at 4000 chips.

This frature would limit those that gain the upper hand in chips during the first 4 rounds not to be able to puchase a re-buy, but allow those that took a bad beat and buy a re-buy and add-on and get back to their original buy-in or close to it at 15,000 chips to start the real tournament from round 5.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2010, 07:42:51 PM by Viper »

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5422
    • View Profile
Re: Re-buying & Player Chips
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2010, 10:48:32 AM »
Viper, I don't think that TD would be able to do so, as TD isn't able to track chip counts for players in real time. You would have to edit the chip stack a player has and then attempt the rebuy, but if you know the threshold and the player is above it, it wouldn't be practical. I agree, it would be nice to allow TD to do it, but again, it's nearly impossible to track player's chip counts on a constant basis.

All that is needed is the ability to have a drop down box or a box that you type in that is connected to the rebuys. When selecting a re-buy you place the amount in which a re-buy would be allowed, in this case $3,000.00 or less. Then when the player request a re-buy the host would count his or her chips to make sure the player is $3,000.00 or less and then software would give you an option to grant the reguest. I understand the software can't track players chips, but with some input by the cardroom this would work.

Sure, it could be done.  But are you saying that by the time you've counted the player's chips, you don't already know whether or not the player is allowed to add-on?  You really need to enter it into the TD and have the TD say "no"?  Or am I missing something?

Viper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Re-buying & Player Chips
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2010, 09:14:58 PM »
Viper, I don't think that TD would be able to do so, as TD isn't able to track chip counts for players in real time. You would have to edit the chip stack a player has and then attempt the rebuy, but if you know the threshold and the player is above it, it wouldn't be practical. I agree, it would be nice to allow TD to do it, but again, it's nearly impossible to track player's chip counts on a constant basis.

All that is needed is the ability to have a drop down box or a box that you type in that is connected to the rebuys. When selecting a re-buy you place the amount in which a re-buy would be allowed, in this case $3,000.00 or less. Then when the player request a re-buy the host would count his or her chips to make sure the player is $3,000.00 or less and then software would give you an option to grant the reguest. I understand the software can't track players chips, but with some input by the cardroom this would work.

Sure, it could be done.  But are you saying that by the time you've counted the player's chips, you don't already know whether or not the player is allowed to add-on?  You really need to enter it into the TD and have the TD say "no"?  Or am I missing something?

Your the second person who thinks I am talking about an add-on. Has nothing to do with the add-on... Not a problem I will continue to do it manually...


« Last Edit: November 29, 2010, 09:17:42 PM by Viper »

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5422
    • View Profile
Re: Re-buying & Player Chips
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2010, 09:56:00 PM »
Your the second person who thinks I am talking about an add-on. Has nothing to do with the add-on... Not a problem I will continue to do it manually...

It doesn't matter if it's an add-on or a rebuy.  With a few minor differences, they are essentially the same thing to the software.  In fact, internally there is only one dialog with a few options that allow it to be a "rebuy" dialog or an "add-on" dialog.  I'm just trying to understand the feature request, not shut down the conversation.

Of course I could add another item that limits rebuys.  Off the top of my head, I don't think it would take much work.  But to compare a chip-count limitation to, say, a round-number limitation, they aren't the same thing.  Sure, it's easy for the host to see that it is already round 5 (for example) and the rebuy time is over, but it's nice that the software will remind you of this fact should you try to perform a rebuy after round 4.  But the software already knows what round it is.  That's its job.  But to limit based on chip count is different, because the software typically does not know the chip count of any player, much less every player.  Which means you would have to count the player's chips and enter it into the software, each time you perform a rebuy.  I'm just asking if once you've gone to that amount of trouble, don't you already know whether or not the player can rebuy?  Or, again, am I missing something?  (I miss things quite often - and there's a lot of evidence of that in these forums.)

Viper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Re-buying & Player Chips
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2010, 05:53:22 PM »
Your the second person who thinks I am talking about an add-on. Has nothing to do with the add-on... Not a problem I will continue to do it manually...

It doesn't matter if it's an add-on or a rebuy.  With a few minor differences, they are essentially the same thing to the software.  In fact, internally there is only one dialog with a few options that allow it to be a "rebuy" dialog or an "add-on" dialog.  I'm just trying to understand the feature request, not shut down the conversation.

Of course I could add another item that limits rebuys.  Off the top of my head, I don't think it would take much work.  But to compare a chip-count limitation to, say, a round-number limitation, they aren't the same thing.  Sure, it's easy for the host to see that it is already round 5 (for example) and the rebuy time is over, but it's nice that the software will remind you of this fact should you try to perform a rebuy after round 4.  But the software already knows what round it is.  That's its job.  But to limit based on chip count is different, because the software typically does not know the chip count of any player, much less every player.  Which means you would have to count the player's chips and enter it into the software, each time you perform a rebuy.  I'm just asking if once you've gone to that amount of trouble, don't you already know whether or not the player can rebuy?  Or, again, am I missing something?  (I miss things quite often - and there's a lot of evidence of that in these forums.)


No your not missing something it was only a suggestion. I see your point... I have hosted larger groups of players and some players what the purchase a re-buy right from the beginning and they are non stop on wanting to purchase the re-buy even though they may be the chip leader. This would allow me to say sorry the software will not allow you to purchase a re-buy.

TIMMER

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
    • View Profile
Re: Re-buying & Player Chips
« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2010, 06:14:18 PM »
All, trying to blame it on the software  LOL

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5422
    • View Profile
Re: Re-buying & Player Chips
« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2010, 10:26:24 AM »
This would allow me to say sorry the software will not allow you to purchase a re-buy.

I can see where this would be helpful.  I'll see about adding Chip Count as a rebuy/add-on restriction.

Magic_fubu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1035
    • View Profile
Re: Re-buying & Player Chips
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2010, 07:33:04 PM »
Your the second person who thinks I am talking about an add-on. Has nothing to do with the add-on... Not a problem I will continue to do it manually...

It doesn't matter if it's an add-on or a rebuy.  With a few minor differences, they are essentially the same thing to the software.  In fact, internally there is only one dialog with a few options that allow it to be a "rebuy" dialog or an "add-on" dialog.  I'm just trying to understand the feature request, not shut down the conversation.

Of course I could add another item that limits rebuys.  Off the top of my head, I don't think it would take much work.  But to compare a chip-count limitation to, say, a round-number limitation, they aren't the same thing.  Sure, it's easy for the host to see that it is already round 5 (for example) and the rebuy time is over, but it's nice that the software will remind you of this fact should you try to perform a rebuy after round 4.  But the software already knows what round it is.  That's its job.  But to limit based on chip count is different, because the software typically does not know the chip count of any player, much less every player.  Which means you would have to count the player's chips and enter it into the software, each time you perform a rebuy.  I'm just asking if once you've gone to that amount of trouble, don't you already know whether or not the player can rebuy?  Or, again, am I missing something?  (I miss things quite often - and there's a lot of evidence of that in these forums.)


No your not missing something it was only a suggestion. I see your point... I have hosted larger groups of players and some players what the purchase a re-buy right from the beginning and they are non stop on wanting to purchase the re-buy even though they may be the chip leader. This would allow me to say sorry the software will not allow you to purchase a re-buy.

For what it's worth, I saw it from there when I mentioned I seen where it was going... Guess I couldda commented on it with my a-ha post :-[
My cowboys shot down your rockets
---
If you send a request to me please send that you got me from here w/your TD name to confirm. Thanks!

Viper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Re-buying & Player Chips
« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2010, 07:42:04 AM »
This would allow me to say sorry the software will not allow you to purchase a re-buy.

I can see where this would be helpful.  I'll see about adding Chip Count as a rebuy/add-on restriction.

Thanks Corey... It's something to think about...