Author Topic: Extended Display  (Read 1314 times)

jodybingo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Extended Display
« on: December 21, 2009, 01:38:16 AM »
I have two displays, and am using full screen for TD. Every time I start up TD2, it opens up full screen on my main display, leaving me to go to the preferences>extended display and move the game window to my secondary display. How do I set TD2 to open up the game window in full screen on my secondary display by default?

Stuart Murray

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
Re: Extended Display
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2009, 06:15:21 AM »
I use extended display also for the clock, one possible method although Corey would need to confirm this is to save the default tourney with the gaming window already set-up on the extended display.  Or make a new default tourney with your preferred seats, blinds & chips etc then save this as (eg) mydefaulttourney and then under preferences tab, config files, default tournament, select this tourney to load automatically each time you load TD.

Regards
Stuart
Stuart Murray

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5381
    • View Profile
Re: Extended Display
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2009, 09:58:56 AM »
The TD will always open automatically to the default display, just like any other program.  This is a good thing.  If you disconnected your extended display and then started the TD, how would you get to the TD window?

Your video software may have settings where you can specify on which display programs will open by default.  Mine, for example (Matrox PowerDesk-SE) has a setting where you can specify which display [all] programs open in.  You can't specify which programs individually will open on which display.  Plus, when I start the TD in window mode it opens on the specified display, but in full-screen mode it opens on display 1 regardless of the setting.  Your mileage may vary.

Stuart Murray

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
Re: Extended Display
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2009, 05:38:04 AM »
Perhaps another to do Corey is to have an option to leave the game window in the extended display as you can get it back by clicking on move to main display anyway, this would assist more professional users eg card rooms, casinos etc with using the software.

Stuart
Stuart Murray

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5381
    • View Profile
Re: Extended Display
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2009, 09:45:26 AM »
Unfortunately the software doesn't have any control over where the window initially opens.  So its initial screen placement is where Windows decides to put it.

It *could*, I suppose, move automatically to the extended display after initially opening where ever Windows puts it.  But it seems like a lot of pain for a little gain.  Is this that big of a deal?  I mean, do you open the program a lot and this is a big hassle?

Stuart Murray

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
Re: Extended Display
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2009, 10:24:02 AM »
for me corey not at all I run the program on a laptop and will be displaying on different lcd screens often so it makes no difference to me as i need to configure the resolution manually for each screen i use.

My suggestion was more for commmercial users in card-rooms who have a fixed set-up but i guess they would be better leaving the td running 24/7 on a dedicated pc anyway.
Stuart Murray