Author Topic: can this program run on a MAC  (Read 1227 times)

Yo_Bee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
can this program run on a MAC
« on: May 06, 2006, 11:49:03 AM »
has anyone got this program to run on a mac

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5379
    • View Profile
Re: can this program run on a MAC
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2006, 11:59:19 AM »
The TD is Windows only.  However, some time ago I got some questions from users who were attempting to run it under a Windows emulator on their Mac.  I think they were using "Virtual Windows"?  Not sure really, I'm not too familiar with Mac software.  Anyway, they were unsuccessful, which didn't surprise me too much.  However, I haven't heard from anyone attempting to run 2.0 under a Windows emulator.

The problems users were having had to do with timing.  The clock wasn't updating often enough.  I think I remember it updating only every few seconds.  This was a problem on 1.3.x because the clock wasn't run off of the system clock, so a clock that only updates every 3 seconds only ticks off 1 second every 3.

The TD 2 uses the system clock, so 1 update every 3 seconds would still tick off 3 seconds, although it would suck for it to run that slowly.  But the TD 2 is more resource-intensive.  It may just run even slower than 1.3.x.

Yo_Bee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: can this program run on a MAC
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2006, 02:21:10 PM »
Thank you for the info.