Author Topic: Two Seperate Screen Displays  (Read 1557 times)

thegooser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Two Seperate Screen Displays
« on: September 05, 2008, 03:45:46 PM »
Can I plug my laptop into a TV screen at a local nightclub, have the TV screen just show my screens that I made in my template, and have the laptop display the things I need like buying in players etc?

(I realise there is probably a technical word that would have shortened that sentence a lot but I just don't know what it is  ???)

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: Two Seperate Screen Displays
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2008, 10:26:51 AM »
Yep - that's one of the main reasons that there are now two windows: the Game window and the Settings window.  If your laptop has a TV out connection, then the video drivers/software will usually allow the display of two separate desktops: one on the laptop screen and one on the external display.  You can run the TD such that the Game window is displayed on the external display and the Settings window is open on the laptop screen.

thegooser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Re: Two Seperate Screen Displays
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2008, 05:18:26 PM »
That's what I'm after.

What do I have to set on TD to do that then?

Gruffse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Two Seperate Screen Displays
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2008, 01:10:47 AM »
in the "Preferences" tab: Press the "Extended Display" button.
Change your settings there.
Choose where you want your Game window to show up and where your Settings window schould show etc.
Click Ok and go to the "Controls" tab.
Now you have everything you need to buy-in players, bust out players etc. on one screen and the game window on the other.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2008, 03:22:13 AM by Gruffse »

thegooser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Re: Two Seperate Screen Displays
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2008, 12:47:53 PM »
fantastic. Thanks for your help. I'll check it out soon

ThorstenP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Two Seperate Screen Displays
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2017, 04:29:37 AM »
fantastic. Thanks for your help. I'll check it out soon

Dear all.

I know, that that topic is very old. but I have the same problem as "thegooser".
I cannot find "in the "Preferences" tab: Press the "Extended Display" button."

Is there in the meanwhile another solution?

Thanks in adavnaced, Thorsten.  ;)


Lafrog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Two Seperate Screen Displays
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2017, 01:34:06 PM »
Under the preferences tab, look for Display Preferences on the left side list, once there you will find the "Move and Size to Extended Display" on the bottom right of the  screen

Corey Cooper

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Re: Two Seperate Screen Displays
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2017, 10:31:16 AM »
Yes, those instructions are valid for version 2.  In version 3 the Preferences tab was overhauled and categorized.  As Lafrog said, it is now in the "Display Management" category on the Preferences tab.