The Tournament Director Forums

Main => Help Me => Topic started by: Zjorn on August 16, 2010, 12:27:01 AM

Title: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: Zjorn on August 16, 2010, 12:27:01 AM
I run a small 10 person league and just started using TD. I would like to have the league standings show on the main layout and a pre-game layout. After reading some posts on here, I understand its possible using tokens and html files. I have followed the instructions listed but still canít get them to show up. Can you give me an exact step by step instruction list? Iím missing something thatís most likely obvious to everyone.
Thanks
Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: Corey Cooper on August 17, 2010, 10:35:25 AM
It's not that straightforward, unfortunately, so here's semi-detailed instructions for doing this:


Something will probably go wrong alone the way so come back if it doesn't work and we'll work through it.
Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: Zjorn on August 18, 2010, 12:27:28 AM
After some trial and error, I was able to get the html file to show up in the box. Now the issue is it only shows the top 1/3 of the file. I changed the scroll to yes and it gave a scroll bar (not what I need). I tried this in the players, rules, and other boxes to see where I could get the whole thing to show. After resizing some of the cells, the image did not change. only increased the empty space  under the image. Here is the path I entered in the html dialogue box. Iím almost there.

<iframe src="C:\Users\Bunzies\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data\saves\league standings 081610.html" frameborder=0 scrolling=no></iframe>




Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: Corey Cooper on August 18, 2010, 10:31:52 AM
I figure you can do one of two things: (1) change the font size in the exported HTML file; or (2) set the height and width attributes of the <iframe> so that it doesn't chop off part of your list.  (2) is the easiest, so here's how to do that:

<iframe src="C:\Users\Bunzies\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data\saves\league standings 081610.html" frameborder=0 scrolling=no height=500 width=600></iframe>

You'll probably want to adjust the height and width values.
Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: Zjorn on August 22, 2010, 12:21:14 AM
I got it!
Thanks
Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: D71J on September 17, 2010, 02:25:07 PM
Hey Corey,

I've been trying to do the same thing but there seems to be a problem with displaying the html-page.
The only thing I get displayed in my cell, is the same page you get when a browser cannot display a webpage:
"this webpage cannot be displayed", please check if your computer is connected to the internet.
I followed every step you said and can find nothing wrong with the code. What am I doing wrong?

Best regards,

Dave
Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: Corey Cooper on September 17, 2010, 02:29:28 PM
Most likely the path to your export stats file isn't specified correctly.  In my first example:

<iframe src="C:\Users\Bunzies\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data\saves\league standings 081610.html" frameborder=0 scrolling=no height=500 width=600></iframe>

The path to your exported stats file should replace

C:\Users\Bunzies\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data\saves\league standings 081610.html

Whatever the path is that you replace the above path with, you should be able to copy it and paste it into the "Location" bar in Windows Explorer (or Internet Explorer) and see your stats page.  Otherwise, your path is probably incorrect.
Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: D71J on September 17, 2010, 02:34:24 PM
I pasted my path into my browser and it gets displayed as it should. Strange it doesn't work in TD2.
Any suggestions?
Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: Corey Cooper on September 17, 2010, 02:42:00 PM
What is the path?
Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: D71J on September 17, 2010, 02:44:08 PM
This is the code in the HTML-section of the cell: <iframe src="<C:\Users\Dave\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data\saves\stats\league_17_09_2010.html>" frameborder=0 scrolling=no width=700 height=500></iframe>
Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: D71J on September 17, 2010, 02:46:27 PM
I don't know if this is important but I'm doing al of this in a new screen with a background and a new cell I named "stats".
I have attached a screenshot with what gets displayed.
Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: Corey Cooper on September 17, 2010, 02:48:38 PM
Take out the extraneous <>:

Code: [Select]
<iframe src="<C:\Users\Dave\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data\saves\stats\league_17_09_2010.html>" frameborder=0 scrolling=no width=700 height=500></iframe>
             ^                                                                                         ^

To:

Code: [Select]
<iframe src="C:\Users\Dave\Documents\The Tournament Director 2\Data\saves\stats\league_17_09_2010.html" frameborder=0 scrolling=no width=700 height=500></iframe>
Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: D71J on September 17, 2010, 02:51:01 PM
Thank you very much, Corey. How stupid can I be that didn't see that?
Works fine now.

Best regards,

Dave
Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: Corey Cooper on September 17, 2010, 02:53:15 PM
Sometimes we've looked at something too long and just can't see what's right before our eyes.  Happens all the time to me.
Title: Re: Posting league standings on main screen?
Post by: D71J on September 17, 2010, 03:06:57 PM
It is possible to put scrolling on the iframe, but I wonder if it is also possible to make it auto scroll like on the player rankingsscreen?
Or does this always happen auto if the list gets to long to fit the cell?