Author Topic: Question About Reading Tournament Data  (Read 6549 times)

johnbatdorf

• View Profile
Question About Reading Tournament Data
« on: February 07, 2011, 08:19:51 PM »
I play in a league in portland that uses TD in their establishment. We're talking several hundred players with 6 tournaments + per day.

I'm a c# programmer, and want to create a windows service that will read current data from tournaments AS THEY ARE RUNNING and push this data to the web. (How many players are in, prize pools, etc.) I'd have a timer run and update it like every minute or 3 or so and then push this info to a web service that could publish it to a web site....

Any suggestions?

jodybingo

• View Profile
    • Personal Web Site
Re: Question About Reading Tournament Data
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2011, 10:08:47 PM »
One suggestion...let me know when you've accomplished this. My club would be interested.

Corey Cooper

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2011, 10:31:53 AM »
You'd have to (a) set the program to auto-save the tournament at a pretty high frequency and (b) be able to read and parse the saved tournament file.  Currently, there's no other way to do it.

The best thing I could do to help is to have the software write out a simple status file at specific time intervals.  It would be extremely sparse, with just a few bits of data, so as to take a minimal amount of time.  Something like:

state:inprogress
clock:running
time:13:27
level:Round 2
time:10:25:39
buyins:27
addons:0
rebuys:3
players:14
busted:13
pot:783.22

An external program could read this to get the current tournament information.  This wouldn't be too hard, so I'll consider adding it before 2.6 finally goes out if this would help.

johnbatdorf

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2011, 11:05:37 AM »